Pakistan Face Defeat Against South Africa in World Championship of Legends 2024

Pakistan Face Defeat Against South Africa in World Championship of Legends 2024

On Monday, the Pakistan Team faced their first defeat against South Africa in the World Championship of Legends 2024 at the County Ground, Northampton.


Pakistan Team which is playing under the captaincy of Younis Khan couldn’t defend the target of 211 runs and lost the game by 9 wickets as the Proteas chased down the target in the 19th over.

Pakistan was at 210 runs with the loss of 4 wickets after being asked to bat first by South Africa.

Here is the Champions Trophy 2025 Schedule Proposed by the ICC

With the help of the other hitters, Sharjeel Khan gave the innings momentum when Kamran Akmal (13) fell to Vernon Philander.

Sharjeel shared an 85-run partnership with 24-year-old Sohaib Maqsood. He scored seven fours and six sixes in his 36-ball 72.

Shahid Afridi, in the meantime, was dispatched above and struck 10-ball 20.

Conversely, Shoaib Malik and Abdul Razzaq proved to be difficult to contain as they amassed 75 runs in just 31 balls, pushing Pakistan’s score past 200.

Pakistan vs India WCL: Unbeaten Pakistan Triumphs Over India in World Championship of Legends

Razzaq scored 15 balls for 25, while Malik hit 51 off 26 balls.

In the third over of the run chase, South Africa lost their key man, JP Duminy. Jacques Snyman and Sarel Erwee had different strategies when they batted together for the second wicket.

The pair was too much for Pakistan to handle, as they easily won the run chase. Erwee scored a century on 57 balls, Snyman made 47 balls, and Erwee made 105.

It should be mentioned that after winning their first four matches, Pakistan has already advanced to the semifinals. The other squad to qualify is Australia.

Follow Our Offical WhatsApp Channel thestumpblog

England has been eliminated from the last four races, while South Africa, India, and the West Indies are still in the running.

Schedule of remaining WCL matches

Wednesday, July 10, West Indies Champions vs Australia Champions, Northamptonshire Stadium

Wednesday, July 10, India Champions vs South Africa Champions, Northamptonshire Stadium

Friday, July 12, Semi-finalist 1 vs Semi-finalist 2, Northamptonshire Stadium

Friday, July 12, Semi-finalist 3 vs Semi-finalist 4, Northamptonshire Stadium

Saturday, July 13, Finalist 1 vs Finalist 2, Edgbaston Stadium



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here