Pakistan Women Make History with First T20I Series Triumph in Dunedin

Pakistan Women Make History with First T20I Series Triumph in Dunedin

The Pakistan women’s cricket squad achieved a historic milestone in Dunedin, Pakistan Women T20I series comes to an end by securing a maiden series victory against the New Zealand women’s team at the University of Otago Oval.


Before December 2023, New Zealand had a perfect 8-0 record against Pakistan in T20Is. However, two consecutive games saw a remarkable turnaround for the Pakistani side.

In the first game, Pakistan triumphed by seven wickets at the same venue. Building on this success, they dominated the second game, claiming a decisive 10-run victory and establishing a commanding 2-0 lead in the series.

The hosts managed only 127/7 in response to Pakistan’s 137/6. Aalia Riaz’s quickfire 32 off 22 deliveries, including boundary shots and well-timed strokes, set the tone. Muneeba Ali, the opener, contributed a solid 35 to the total.

Despite a fightback from Georgia Pimmer and Hamma Rowe, New Zealand fell short by 10 runs.

Fatima Sana‘s remarkable last-over performance, defending 17 runs, secured the win with three crucial wickets, supported by Sadia Iqbal’s two dismissals.

This victory marks Pakistan’s second win against the Kiwis in the series, exhibiting their prowess and resilience.

Looking ahead, the remaining matches include the third T20I on December 9 at Sir John Davies Oval, Queenstown, followed by a series of ODIs scheduled for December 12 and 15 at Sir John Davies Oval, Queenstown, and Hagley Oval, Christchurch, respectively.

The series concludes with the third ODI on December 18 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch.

Both teams showcased their strengths and strategies, setting the stage for an exciting remainder of the series.

Pakistan Women T20I series:

  1. Nida Dar (captain)
  2. Aliya Riaz
  3. Bismah Maroof
  4. Diana Baig
  5. Fatima Sana
  6. Ghulam Fatima
  7. Muneeba Ali (wk)
  8. Najiha Alvi (wk)
  9. Nashra Sundhu
  10. Natalia Parvaiz
  11. Omaima Sohail
  12. Sadaf Shamas
  13. Sadia Iqbal
  14. Shawaal Zulfiqar,
  15. Sidra Amin
  16. Umm-e-Hani
  17. Waheeda Akhtar

New Zealand Squad:

  1. Sophie Devine (c)
  2. Kate Anderson
  3. Suzie Bates
  4. Bernadine Bezuidenhout
  5. Eden Carson (T20I only)
  6. Izzy Gaze (ODI & 1st T20I)
  7. Maddy Green
  8. Fran Jonas
  9. Melanie Kerr
  10. Jess Kerr
  11. Molly Penfold
  12. Georgia Plimmer
  13. Hannah Rowe
  14. Lea Tahuhu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here