Wahab Riaz and Abdul Razzaq Out from PCB selection committee

Wahab Riaz and Abdul Razzaq Out from PCB selection committee

Wahab Riaz and Abdul Razzaq former Pakistani cricketers who were serving on the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) selection committee were removed from PCB after Green Shirts’s poor performance in ICC  T20 World Cup 2024 in the USA.


However, their companion Mohammad Yousaf, Asad Shafiq, and Bilal Afzal are still part of the PCB selection committee.

According to sources, PCB has been disappointed with Wahab Riaz and Abdul Razzaq for some time. Their role was very important in selecting the Pakistan squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 and the players didn’t perform well after being fully backed by the committee.

Pakistan Face Defeat Against South Africa in World Championship of Legends 2024

PCB didn’t take their suggestion on this and just announced that Wahab Riaz and Abdul Razzaq are no longer part of the PCB selection committee.

“The Pakistan Cricket Board today confirmed that it has notified Abdul Razzaq and Wahab Riaz that their services will no longer be required in the national selection committee setup. Abdul Razzaq was a member of the men’s and women’s selection committee, while Wahab was a member of the men’s selection committee,” the PCB later confirmed in a brief press release on Wednesday.

“The PCB will provide further updates on the selection committee’s composition in due course,” it added.

It should be mentioned that Mohsin Naqvi, the chairman of the PCB, attended two crucial meetings on Tuesday. He had a meeting with Pakistan’s red-ball coach Jason Gillespie and white-ball coach Gary Kirsten to discuss crucial issues.

He made the decision to create a thorough plan aimed at enhancing Pakistan’s cricket team’s batting, bowling, and fielding.

PCB Announces Schedule for Pakistan vs Bangladesh Test Series

Later, he had meetings with around twenty Pakistani cricket players, both past and present, to talk about the sport’s future in that nation.

Naqvi opened the conference with a presentation titled “Pathway to Pakistan Cricket,” outlining the procedures a cricket player must follow to be selected for the national squad.

There were also other PCB executives in attendance, including COO Salman Naseer, Director of High Performance, Nadeem Khan, Director of International, Usman Wahla, Director of Domestic Cricket Operations, Abdullah Khurram Niazi, Member of the Selection Committee – Bilal Afzal.

Follow Our Offical WhatsApp Channel thestumpblog

Abdur Rauf, Aamer Malik, Asim Kamal, Azhar Khan, Azhar Mahmood, Basit Ali, Haroon Rashid, Ijaz Ahmed, Intikhab Alam, Iqbal Qasim, Sadiq Mohammad, Saleem Altaf, Saleem Yousuf, Salman Butt, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shafiq Ahmad, Shafqat Rana, Sikander Bakht, Wajahatullah Wasti, Yasir Hameed, and Yasir Shah were among those present at the meeting.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here