2023 cricket world cup: India victory puts England closer to exit door

2023 cricket world cup: India victory puts England closer to exit door

The 2023 cricket world cup match no 29 was played between host country India vs England the defenders at Ekana Sports City, Lucknow, on Sunday.


Team Blue made their 6th consecutive win in 2023 cricket world cup. India is the only team that didn’t lose in any game they played and is top on points tables.

However, England the Champions of 2019 World Cup is on the edge of elimination. They have won only one game in 6 matches.

Jos Buttler’s team is on the brink of elimination from the tournament. In six matches, the defending champions managed just one victory, against Bangladesh in Dharamshala.

Facing India’s fierce pace attack, England’s top-order batsmen Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, and Ben Stokes all departed early, with the latter two failing to score. Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja contributed to the damage with three wickets between them.

Furthermore, Mohammad Shami shone for India, taking four wickets for 22 runs and making it tough for the English batsmen to make contact with the ball. Jasprit Bumrah claimed three wickets for India.

In an unprecedented event in Cricket World Cup history, both number three batsmen, Virat Kohli and Joe Root, were dismissed without scoring in the second innings.

Batting first, India struggled on a challenging Lucknow wicket. Shubman Gill departed early with nine runs, leaving India at 26-1 in four overs. Kohli and Shreyas Iyer also fell quickly, with England’s bowlers keeping the pressure on. A crucial 91-run partnership between Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul stabilized the innings.

Rahul was dismissed, and Suryakumar Yadav joined Sharma at the crease. However, Sharma’s innings ended at 87 runs, caught by Liam Livingstone after misjudging Adil Rashid’s delivery. India reached 164-5 in 36.5 overs.

Despite initial doubts about reaching 200 runs, Yadav contributed 49 valuable runs but narrowly missed a half-century, getting caught by Chris Woakes. India’s final score was 229-9 in their allotted 50 overs.

Next, The Blues will face Sri Lanka on November 2 in Mumbai, while England, nursing their wounds, will take on Australia on November 4 in Ahmedabad.

India vs England 2023 cricket world cup squad

India Squad:

  1. Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Virat Kohli
  4. Shreyas Iyer
  5. KL Rahul (Wicket-Keeper)
  6. Suryakumar Yadav
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Jasprit Bumrah
  9. Kuldeep Yadav
  10. Mohammed Siraj
  11. Mohammed Shami

England squad:

  1.  Jonny Bairstow
  2. Dawid Malan
  3. Joe Root
  4. Ben Stokes
  5. Jos Buttler (Captain/Wicket-Keeper)
  6. Liam Livingstone
  7. Moeen Ali
  8. David Wiley
  9. Chris Woakes
  10. Mark Wood
  11. Adil Rashid


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here