Australia announces PM XI squad for Pakistan match

Australia announces PM XI squad for Pakistan match

Cricket Australia (CA) revealed the lineup for the PM XI squad set to challenge Pakistan in a four-day Test match at Manuka Oval, Canberra, from December 6–9.


Throughout the game, the Prime Minister’s XI will be bolstered by the presence of ATC Premier players, offering them a valuable opportunity to learn and train alongside some of the nation’s best domestic players.

See Pak vs. Aus: Perth Match Named The West Test

The first PM’s XI match dates back to 1951, and this upcoming event marks the second under Prime Minister Albanese following a two-year break due to the COVID-19 pandemic before 2022.

This face-off will be Pakistan’s third encounter with the PM XI squad, following past matchups in 1990 and 2005.

Australia Squad for Prime Minister’s XI:

  1. Nathan McSweeney (Captain)
  2.  Cameron Bancroft
  3.  Cameron Green
  4.  Marcus Harris
  5.  Nathan McAndrew
  6.  Todd Murphy
  7. Michael Neser
  8.  Jimmy Peirson
  9. Matthew Renshaw
  10. Mark Steketee
  11.  Beau Webster

Albanese expressed enthusiasm about the rich history of the Prime Minister’s XI in Australian Cricket and confirmed the chosen squad for the upcoming challenge against Pakistan.

“Our selection of an experienced squad on the brink of Test selection, led by Nathan McSweeney as captain, signifies the tradition and essence of this significant fixture” Albanese stated.

Pakistan has also finalized its squad for the encounter led by Shan Masood, with a training camp ongoing in Rawalpindi. The team, along with additional players, will train at the Pindi Cricket Stadium until November 28 before departing from Lahore on November 30.

Pakistan Squad:

  1. Shan Masood (Captain)
  2.  Aamir Jamal
  3.  Abdullah Shafiq
  4.  Abrar Ahmed
  5.  Babar Azam
  6. Faheem Ashraf
  7. Hasan Ali
  8. Imam-ul-Haq
  9. Khurram Shahzad
  10. Mir Hamza
  11. Mohammad Rizwan
  12. Mohammad Wasim Jr
  13. Nauman Ali
  14. Saim Ayub
  15. Salman Ali Agha
  16. Shaheen Afridi
  17. Saud Shakeel
  18. Sarfaraz Ahmed

Pakistan’s Test tour of Australia comprises three matches scheduled from December 14 to January 7, with games at Perth Stadium, Melbourne Cricket Ground, and Sydney Cricket Ground.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here