Babar Azam scores the game-winning hundred in LPL 2023

Babar Azam scores the game-winning hundred in LPL 2023

On Monday in the Lanka Premier League (LPL), Colombo Stikers defeated Galle Titans by seven wickets thanks to a century from Pakistan’s skipper, Babar Azam.


Moreover, Babar joined Chris Gayle in a select group of players after scoring the match-winning hundred for Colombo Strikers against Galle Titans in the tenth game of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023 at the Pallekele International Stadium.

In pursuit of the Titans’ 189-run mark, Babar got off to a flying start by hitting three consecutive boundaries against Kasun Rajitha in the very first over of his bat.

In the match, Babar Azam scored 104 runs off 59 balls, including four fours and five sixes. His strike rate when batting was 176.27.

The right-handed batsman needed only 34 balls to achieve fifty. He improved his rate of scoring and finished his 23 balls later.

Colombo Strikers gave the ball to the Galle Titans, who scored 188-3 thanks to Tim Seifert’s undefeated half-century. On his route to a 35-ball 54, he smashed four boundaries and three maximums.

Shevon Daniel, the opener, scored 49 runs off of 31 balls, including five fours and two sixes. Lasith Croospulle, his opening partner, contributed with his 36, while Bhanuka Rajapaksa scored 30.

For Colombo Strikers, Naseem Shah, Ramesh Mendis, and Lakshan Sandakan each claimed a wicket.

Babar Azam and Pathum Nissanka put on an opening partnership of 111 runs, with Nissanka scoring a half-century. The latter made a 40-ball 54, scoring five fours and a six. Both of Tabraiz Shamsi’s wickets were taken.

Chris Gayle holds the record for the most hundreds in the shortest format of the game with 22 hundred. Babar, on the other hand, made history as the first Asian player to achieve 10 T20 centuries. In terms of the shortest format of the game, Virat Kohli, a renowned Indian player, ranks second in Asia with 8 hundred.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here