Fakhar Zaman Heroics Earn Praise from Afridi, Hafeez, and Others

Fakhar Zaman Heroics Earn Praise from Afridi, Hafeez, and Others

In the 35th match of the ICC World Cup 2023 in Bengaluru, Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 21 runs (DLS method). Fakhar Zaman and Babar Azam, the star batters, received praise from former and current cricketers.


Thanks to Fakhar’s exceptional batting, Pakistan secured a victory, surpassing New Zealand by 21 runs according to the DLS method in just 25.3 overs.

Babar and Fakhar’s partnership of 194 runs played a pivotal role in Pakistan’s crucial win. They now prepare for another must-win match against England on November 11 in Kolkata.

Former and current cricketers, along with the entire nation, congratulated the two batters.

It’s worth mentioning that Fakhar Zaman made history by scoring the fastest century (63 balls) for Pakistan in a World Cup match, surpassing Imran Nazir’s record. He also hit 11 sixes, becoming only the fourth player to achieve ten or more sixes in World Cup history.

In the first innings, New Zealand posted a challenging 401-6, the second-highest total in the ongoing competition. Key contributions came from Rachin Ravindra (108), Kane Williamson (95), and Glenn Phillips (41). Mark Chapman (39), Daryl Mitchell (29), and Mitchell Santner (26) also played their part.

Despite his injury earlier in the tournament, Williamson returned to the team and shared a 180-run partnership with Ravindra before falling for 95.

However, Pakistan’s fast bowlers, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf, had a tough day, setting unwanted records. Shaheen conceded 90 runs in 10 overs, and Haris gave away 85 runs in 10 overs, marking the most expensive spells for Pakistan in World Cup history.

Pak vs Nz Playing XI:

Pakistan XI:

  1. Abdullah Shafique
  2. Fakhar Zaman
  3. Babar Azam (c)
  4. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  5. Iftikhar Ahmed
  6. Saud Shakeel
  7. Agha Salman
  8. Shaheen Afridi
  9. Mohammad Wasim Jr
  10. Haris Rauf
  11. Hasan Ali

New Zealand XI:

  1. Devon Conway
  2. Kane Williamson (c)
  3. Rachin Ravindra
  4. Daryl Mitchell
  5. Tom Latham (wk)
  6. Glenn Phillips
  7. Mitchell Santner
  8. Trent Boult
  9. Tim Southee
  10. Ish Sodhi
  11. Mark Chapman


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here