New Zealand T20I Squad Revealed for Pakistan Series

New Zealand T20I Squad Revealed for Pakistan Series

New Zealand T20I squad for the Pakistan series has received a boost with the return of fast bowler Matt Henry after recovering from a hamstring injury.


New Zealand T20I Squad:

  1. Kane Williamson (c) (matches 1, 2, 4 and 5)
  2. Finn Allen
  3. Mark Chapman
  4. Josh Clarkson (match 3 only)
  5. Devon Conway (wk)
  6. Lockie Ferguson (matches 3, 4 and 5)
  7. Matt Henry
  8. Adam Milne
  9. Daryl Mitchell
  10. Glenn Phillips
  11. Mitchell Santner
  12. Ben Sears (matches 1 and 2)
  13. Tim Seifert (wk)
  14. Ish Sodhi
  15. Tim Southee

Henry, who missed the Cricket World Cup 2023 due to this injury, is making a comeback in domestic cricket before joining the 13-player squad for the upcoming five-match series starting on January 12th.

Captain Kane Williamson and batsman Devon Conway are also back in action after sitting out during the Bangladesh leg of their home summer.

However, Williamson will miss the third T20I to manage a persistent knee issue, with Mitchell Santner taking on the captaincy role. The squad also sees Josh Clarkson joining as cover for the match, while Rachin Ravindra will be on the sidelines, and Lockie Ferguson is set to rejoin towards the series end.

Coach Gary Stead is emphasizing the significance of the Pakistan series, given the T20 World Cup approaching. He highlighted the importance of these matches in the team’s preparation, especially kicking off the series at Eden Park in Auckland, which he believes the team will thoroughly enjoy.

A few adjustments have been made in the squad, with Ben Sears included for the opening two matches to accommodate Ferguson, while Kyle Jamieson and Michael Bracewell recover from injuries. Trent Boult and Jimmy Neesham are unavailable for selection.

The New Zealand T20I squad is set to convene in Auckland on January 9 ahead of the series that will span across Auckland, Hamilton, Dunedin, and Christchurch from January 12th to 21st.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here