pak vs ban: Semifinal dreams stay alive thanks to Fakhar

pak vs ban: Semifinal dreams stay alive thanks to Fakhar

ICC World Cup 2023 31st match was played today between pak vs ban at Eden Gardens Stadium Kolkata. Fakhar Zaman’s Heroic Innings Revive Pakistan’s Semifinal Hopes with Pacer Support.


Bangladesh is out of the World Cup 2023.

Fakhar Zaman made an impressive comeback after missing five matches. He scored 81 runs from 74 deliveries, including three fours and seven sixes, one of which was a huge 99-meter shot.

See ICC World Cup Points Table 2023 Update

Abdullah Shafique also played well, scoring 68 runs. The two formed a strong 128-run opening partnership for Pakistan.

However, Pakistan’s captain, Babar Azam, couldn’t finish the game. He got out after making just nine runs, trying to hit a six but was caught by Mahmudullah at long-on.

The match was wrapped up by Mohammad Rizwan (26*) and Iftikhar Ahmed (17*), keeping Pakistan’s hopes of reaching the semifinals alive.

In the first innings, Bangladesh faced early trouble, losing Tanzid Hasan for a duck in the first over to Shaheen Afridi.

Najmul Hossain Shanto (4) and Mushfiqur Rahim (5) were dismissed by Afridi and Haris Rauf in the next few overs, leaving Bangladesh at 23-3 in just six overs.

Litton Das and Mahmudullah then put up a 79-run partnership, which helped Bangladesh post a reasonable total against Pakistan’s strong pace attack.

Das was dismissed by Iftikhar Ahmed, and Mahmudullah was bowled out by Afridi after scoring 56 runs.

Captain Shakib Al Hasan contributed 43 runs, and Mehidy Hasan Miraz added 25, but it wasn’t enough to take Bangladesh to a competitive total. They were all out for just 204 runs.

Shaheen Afridi and Wasim Jr were the standout bowlers for Pakistan, both taking three wickets.

Next, Pakistan will face New Zealand in a crucial must-win match on November 4 in Bengaluru to keep their World Cup semifinal hopes alive.

pak vs ban playing XI

Pakistan playing XI:

  1. Abdullah Shafique
  2. Fakhar Zaman
  3. Babar Azam(c)
  4. Mohammad Rizwan(w)
  5. Saud Shakeel
  6. Iftikhar Ahmed
  7. Agha Salman
  8. Shaheen Afridi
  9. Usama Mir
  10. Mohammad Wasim Jr
  11. Haris Rauf

Bangladesh Playing XI:

  1.  Litton Das
  2. Tanzid Hasan
  3. Najmul Hossain Shanto
  4. Shakib Al Hasan(c)
  5. Mushfiqur Rahim(w)
  6. Mahmudullah
  7. Towhid Hridoy
  8. Mehidy Hasan Miraz
  9. Taskin Ahmed
  10. Mustafizur Rahman
  11. Shoriful Islam


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here