PSL Hosting: Two countries in consideration for PSL 9

PSL Hosting: Two countries in consideration for PSL 9

Two countries are in the race to host some matches of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 9. For PSL Hosting UAE and South Africa are being considered to host the initial matches due to the upcoming elections in Pakistan.


The general elections in Pakistan are slated for February 8, as confirmed by the Election Commission earlier this month. This timing aligns with the window for the upcoming PSL season, spanning from February 8 to March 24, 2024.

Franchises are pushing for the entire event to be held in Pakistan, despite these considerations. Final decisions about the schedule and venues for PSL 9 are anticipated to be made during today’s governing council meeting in Lahore. This meeting, chaired by Zaka Ashraf, the head of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Management Committee, will involve representatives from all six PSL franchises.

The PSL Draft, where teams lock in their squads, is tentatively set for mid-December. Foreign player registrations are currently open, and the categories for local players have been updated. Franchises will now submit requests for player relegations before confirming retentions. Teams will have the chance to match a player’s base category after relegation requests are made. If no match is found, the player may be moved to a lower category.

However, PSL Categories Renewed for Local Pakistani Players in 2024 are here

PSL Categories renewal for local players

Islamabad United

  1. Platinum: Shadab Khan
  2.  Diamond: Asif Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Hasan Ali, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf
  3.  Gold: Sohaib Maqsood, Abrar Ahmed, Rumman Raees, Zafar Gohar, Mubasir Khan
  4.  Silver: Zeeshan Zamir
  5.  Emerging: Hassan Nawaz

Karachi Kings

  1. Platinum: Imad Wasim
  2.  Diamond: Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir
  3.  Gold: Haider Ali, Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan, Mir Hamza, Tayyab Tahir, Musa Khan, Qasim Akram
  4.  Silver: Mohammad Ikhlaq, Mohammad Umar, Akif Javed
  5.  Emerging: Irfan Khan Niazi, Faisal Akram

Lahore Qalandars-

  1. Platinum: Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Fakhar Zaman
  2.  Gold: Hussain Talat, Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam, Mirza Tahir Baig, Zaman Khan
  3.  Silver: Dilbar Hussain, Ahmed Daniyal, Ahsan Bhatti, Jalat Khan
  4.  Emerging: Shawaiz Irfan

Multan Sultans

  1.  Platinum: Mohammad Rizwan
  2.  Diamond: Shan Masood, Khushdil Shah, Usama Mir
  3.  Gold: Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah, Arafat Minhas, Shahnawaz Dahani, Anwar Ali
  4.  Silver: Sameen Gul, Sarwar Afridi, Ammad Butt, Mohammad Ilyas

Peshawar Zalmi

  1.  Platinum: Babar Azam
  2.  Diamond: Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Haris, Saim Ayub
  3.  Gold: Danish Aziz, Arshad Iqbal, Aamer Jamal, Salman Irshad, Usman Qadir, Haris Sohail, Sufyan Muqeem
  4.  Silver: Khurram Shahzad
  5.  Emerging: Haseebullah, Saad Masood

Quetta Gladiators

  1. Platinum: Naseem Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed
  2.  Diamond: Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed
  3.  Gold: Mohammad Hasnain, Ahsan Ali, Umar Akmal, Omair Bin Yousuf, Saud Shakeel
  4.  Silver: Bismillah Khan, Umaid Asif, Mohammad Zahid, Arshadullah
  5.  Emerging: Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Aimal Khan, Yasir Khan, Khawaja Mohammad Nafay


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here