West Indies Defeat Pakistan Women’s National Cricket Team in first ODI

West Indies Defeat Pakistan Women's National Cricket Team in first ODI

West Indies Team defeated Pakistan Women’s National Cricket Team in the first ODI of the series on Thursday at National Bank Stadium (NBS) in Karachi.


West Indies on winning the toss decided to bat first. Opening Batsman from the West Indies Team Captain Matthews led the team and played brilliant innings of 140 runs that included 15 boundaries.

Matthews made 102 runs in partnership with Shemanie Campbelle after the early dismissal of opener Rashada Williams on 1 run.

Watch: Netflix Release Crickets Greatest Rivalry Ind vs Pak Cricket Documentary Trailer

Campbell scored 45 runs which was the second highest run-scorer of the game. Chinelle Henry made 23 runs.

West Indies finished on 269-8 in 50 overs.

For Pakistan, Sadia Iqbal and Tuba Hassan claimed two wickets each.

In reply, the Pakistan Women’s National Cricket Team were all out for 156 runs in 35.5 overs and lost the match by a massive 113 runs.

Pakistan kept on losing wickets at regular intervals and never threatened to chase down the 270-run target.

Tuba was the highest scorer for Pakistan with 25 runs.

After impressing with the bat, Matthews also dominated in the bowling department with three wickets for 17 runs in six overs.

Afy Fletcher and Zaida James also clinched two wickets each.

The three ODIs will be followed by five T20Is from April 26 to May 3.

Schedule of remaining matches

21 Apr – Second ODI at NBS

23 Apr – Third ODI at NBS

26 Apr – First T20I at NBS

28 Apr – Second T20I at NBS

30 Apr – Third T20I at NBS

2 May – Fourth T20I at NBS

3 May – Fifth T20I at NBS



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here