why there is no ICC world cup opening ceremony 2023?

why there is no ICC world cup opening ceremony 2023?

The absence of a World Cup opening ceremony 2023  left cricket fans upset, as the entire world had been eagerly anticipating the grand kickoff of this mega event.


The start of the ICC World Cup 2023 match between England and New Zealand was marked by a surprising lack of spectators at the massive Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) ensured event success. However, fans were left disheartened when it was revealed that the 2023 World Cup would not feature an opening ceremony.

Captains meet-up: ICC Captain Day: Babar Azam and Rohit Sharma in Ahmedabad

In contrast to previous editions, this World Cup began without the typical grandeur of an opening ceremony.

So,To add to the uneasy atmosphere, reports in the Indian media on Wednesday suggested potential threats from terrorists targeting World Cup matches held in Ahmedabad. This has naturally raised concerns about the safety of both players and spectators.

Over 3,000 police personnel are deployed for safety at Ahmedabad Stadium.

Furthermore, Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar tweeted about the situation, expressing his thoughts on the matter.

“Disappointing to see this World Cup opener in front of just a few hundred spectators in Ahmedabad. Very disappointing.”

So, Low attendance at the World Cup opener without an opening ceremony leaves fans disappointed.

Meanwhile, New Zealand elected to field first after winning the toss. Tom Latham is leading the side in the absence of Kane Williamson.

Pakistan’s opening World Cup match is against the Netherlands on October 6th at 1:30 p.m. (PST).

Read More: Nasser Hussain Prediction: Pakistan could lose to Netherlands

Pakistan squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

Traveling reserves:

Mohammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan

Netherlands’ World Cup squad:

Scott Edwards (c), Max O’Dowd, Bas de Leede, Vikram Singh, Teja Nidamanuru, Paul van Meekeren, Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Ryan Klein, Wesley Barresi, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Sybrand Engelbrecht.

Traveling reserves:

Noah Croes, Kyle Klein





  1. Good day! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over
    the same topics? Thanks a lot!

  2. I blog quite often and I really appreciate your content.
    The article has really peaked my interest.
    I am going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new
    details about once per week. I opted in for your Feed too.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here