Aus vs Nz: Australia Claims Thrilling 5-Run Victory in Tense Match

Aus vs Nz: Australia Claims Thrilling 5-Run Victory in Tense Match

ICC World Cup match no 27 was played between Aus vs Nz at HPCA Stadium in Dharamshala. In this thrilling game Aussies won by 5 wickets.


This crucial win has significantly improved Australia’s position in the World Cup points table. They now have eight points from six games and a respectable net run rate (NRR) of 0.970.

See ICC World Cup Points Table 2023 Update

In their pursuit of a challenging target of 389 runs, New Zealand got off to a decent start, with openers Devon Conway and Will Young contributing a combined total of 61 runs.

The turning point came with the 96-run partnership between Rachin Ravindra and Daryl Mitchell, which provided stability to the Black Caps. Mitchell scored 54 runs off 51 balls before being dismissed by the impressive Adam Zampa.

However, it was Ravindra who played a remarkable innings, scoring a sensational century with 116 runs from 89 balls, including 14 boundaries.

Ravindra was well-set and seemed capable of leading his team to victory, but Pat Cummins removed him in the 41st over, which was a crucial wicket for Australia. After Ravindra’s departure, Jimmy Neesham fought valiantly but received limited support from his teammates. He scored 58 runs from 39 balls, taking his team close to the imposing target.

In their innings, Australia posted a formidable total of 389 runs, largely thanks to outstanding performances by Travis Head and David Warner. The opening pair established a dominant position for the five-time World Champions with a partnership of 175 runs.

Travis Head, making a comeback from a lengthy injury, scored 109 runs off just 67 deliveries, featuring 17 boundaries, 10 fours, and seven sixes. Meanwhile, David Warner was just 19 runs short of a well-deserved century, as he was dismissed for 81 runs by Glenn Phillips.

After the openers departed, Australia’s scoring rate slowed down, and it appeared they might fall short of the 350-run mark. However, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis, and skipper Pat Cummins made vital contributions in the closing stages of the innings.

Maxwell smashed 41 runs from 24 balls, with seven boundaries, although he couldn’t reach a half-century. Inglis played at a good run rate of 135.71, scoring 38 runs. Pat Cummins played a key role in pushing his team’s total to 388 by scoring 37 runs from just 14 deliveries, featuring two fours and four sixes.

Despite losing wickets towards the end, Australia managed to reach 388 runs before being bowled out with just four balls remaining.

Aus vs Nz World Cup Squad

Australia Squad:

  1. David Warner
  2. Mitchell Marsh
  3. Steven Smith
  4. Marnus Labuschagne
  5. Josh Inglis (wk)
  6. Glenn Maxwell
  7. Marcus Stoinis
  8. Pat Cummins (c)
  9. Mitchell Starc
  10. Josh Hazlewood
  11. Adam Zampa

New Zealand Squad:

  1. Devon Conway
  2. Will Young
  3. Rachin Ravindra
  4. Daryl Mitchell
  5. Tom Latham (c/wk)
  6. Glenn Phillips
  7. James Neesham
  8. Mitchell Santner
  9. Matt Henry
  10. Tim Southee
  11. Trent Boult


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here