Australia Test Squad for Second Match Again Pakistan Announced

Australia Test Squad for Second Match Again Pakistan Announced

Cricket Australia (CA) has just revealed a 13-player squad for the upcoming Test against Pakistan at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) from December 26-30.


Australia trimmed their squad from 14 to 13, excluding pacer Lance Morris, heading back to the Big Bash team, Perth Scorchers.

 Australia squad for the second Test:

  1. Pat Cummins (captain)
  2. Scott Boland
  3. Alex Carey
  4. Cameron Green
  5. Josh Hazlewood
  6. Travis Head
  7. Usman Khawaja
  8. Marnus Labuschagne
  9. Nathan Lyon
  10. Mitch Marsh
  11. Steve Smith
  12. Mitch Starc
  13. David Warner

Pakistan’s squad for Australia:

  1. Shan Masood (captain)
  2. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicket-keeper)
  3. Imam-ul-Haq
  4. Abdullah Shafique
  5. Babar Azam
  6. Saud Shakeel
  7. Salman Ali Agha
  8. Faheem Ashraf
  9. Shaheen Shah Afridi
  10. Aamir Jamal
  11. Khurram Shahzad
  12. Sajid Khan
  13. Abrar Ahmed

Pakistan managed an extra warm-up match before the second Test, gearing up with a two-day practice game against a Victoria side on December 22-23 to adapt better to Australian conditions.

The Pakistani team lands in Melbourne on December 19. After a day’s rest on the 20th, they’ll showcase their training session to fans, granting cricket enthusiasts a chance to see their favorite players in action on Thursday.

On December 24, the Pakistani players take a break before resuming training at the MCG on Christmas Day.

Notably, Pakistan’s chase of a 450-run target saw them dismissed for a mere 89 runs, with Saud Shakeel top-scoring with 24 runs.

Despite their efforts, Pakistan’s bid for their first Test win in Australia since 1995 was dashed by Nathan Lyon and the formidable Aussie pace attack, wrapping up the game in four days.

Australia declared at 233-5 on the fourth day after dismissing Pakistan for 271 in their first innings in response to the hosts’ 487.

Upcoming match schedule:

2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here