ICC World Cup 2023: Hasan Ali to miss clash against South Africa?

ICC World Cup 2023: Hasan Ali to miss clash against South Africa?

Pakistan Team will face South Africa in the ICC World Cup 2023 on Friday at MA Chidambaram Stadium. Pakistan Pacer Hasan Ali will miss a big game against South Africa.


Hasan Ali is expected to be substituted with Wasim Jr in the match scheduled for tomorrow. The 29-year-old also missed today’s training session.

According to the team management, Hasan has been dealing with a fever since last night but is showing signs of improvement. He will be given the necessary rest to ensure a complete recovery before participating in the remaining games.

Hasan Ali was brought back into the team as a replacement for Naseem Shah, who was sidelined due to a shoulder injury. In the five World Cup games he has played, Hasan Ali has taken eight wickets.

Pakistan’s opening batter, Fakhar Zaman, is in opinion for a spot in the playing XI for the crucial match against South Africa on Friday. After an unexpected loss to Afghanistan, Pakistan must win all their remaining four matches and hope for favorable outcomes in other games to advance to the knockout stages.

On Wednesday, there was good news for the Pakistani camp as Fakhar and Mohammad Nawaz were declared fit to play against South Africa. Fakhar’s impressive performance against South Africa last year, where he scored 193 and helped Pakistan win the series 2-1, makes him a likely inclusion in the team for this crucial match.

Fakhar might replace fellow opener Imam-ul-Haq in the Pakistan lineup for the upcoming World Cup match. The Pakistani team had an extended training session at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Chennai, where they underwent rigorous training for over three hours in preparation for the match.

Pakistan and South Africa Squad in ICC World Cup 2023

Pakistan Squad:

  1. Babar Azam (captain)
  2. Abdullah Shafique
  3. Fakhar Zaman
  4. Imam-ul-Haq
  5. Iftikhar Ahmed
  6. Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper)
  7. Shadab Khan
  8. Mohammad Nawaz
  9. Usama Mir
  10. Haris Rauf
  11. M Wasim Jnr,
  12. Hasan Ali
  13. Shaheen Shah Afridi
  14. Saud Shakeel
  15. Salman Ali Agha

South Africa Squad:

  1. Temba Bavuma (captain)
  2. Gerald Coetzee
  3. Quinton de Kock
  4. Reeza Hendricks
  5. Marco Jansen
  6. Heinrich Klaasen
  7. Lizaad Williams
  8. Keshav Maharaj
  9. Aiden Markram
  10. David Miller
  11. Lungi Ngidi
  12. Andile Phehlukwayo
  13. Kagiso Rabada
  14. Tabraiz Shamsi
  15. Rassie van der Dussen


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here