Pak vs NZ Series: New Zealand Edges Closer to Victory with Dominant Win in Second T20I

Pak vs NZ Series: New Zealand Edges Closer to Victory with Dominant Win in Second T20I

In the second T20I clash of the ongoing Pak vs NZ series at Seedon Park, Hamilton on Sunday, New Zealand secured a convincing 21-run victory over Pakistan.


The visitors faced early challenges in their pursuit of the 195-run target, losing openers Mohammad Rizwan and Saim Ayub in the initial overs for a mere 10 runs.

Despite the setback, Babar Azam and Fakhar Zaman revitalized Pakistan’s innings with an impressive 87-run partnership. Fakhar’s remarkable half-century, achieved in just 24 balls, featured five sixes and three fours. However, momentum shifted when Adam Milne dismissed Fakhar, leading to a collapse with the visitors at 125-6 in 14.3 overs.

In the batting struggle, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan, and Aamer Jamal’s contributions fell short, and Pakistan found themselves facing challenges. Babar Azam, replicating his standout performance from the first match, top-scored with 66 runs off 43 balls, featuring nine boundaries.

In the bowling department, Milne took four crucial wickets, complemented by two each from Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, and Tim Southee.

During New Zealand’s innings, Finn Allen’s explosive innings of 74 runs off 41 balls propelled them to a total of 194 runs. Despite Allen’s impactful start, the home side’s scoring momentum waned after his dismissal in the 13th over. They managed to score only 57 runs in the remaining seven overs.

Pakistani bowlers, spearheaded by Haris Rauf’s three-wicket haul in the 19th over, made a remarkable comeback, restricting the in-form Kiwis to 194 runs.

As the series unfolds, Pakistan faces an uphill task, with New Zealand showcasing dominance in the second T20I. Haris Rauf emerged as Pakistan’s top wicket-taker, highlighting the team’s resilience. With the upcoming matches scheduled, the Pak vs NZ series promises further thrilling encounters.

Pakistan vs New Zealand 2nd T20I Playing XI

Pakistan Playing XI:

  1. Mohammad Rizwan
  2. Saim Ayub
  3. Babar Azam
  4. Fakhar Zaman
  5. Iftikhar Ahmed
  6. Azam Khan (wk)
  7. Aamer Jamal
  8. Usama Mir
  9. Shaheen Afridi (c)
  10. Abbas Afridi
  11. Haris Rauf

New Zealand Playing XI:

  1. Finn Allen
  2. Devon Conway (wk)
  3. Kane Williamson (c)
  4. Daryl Mitchell
  5. Glenn Phillips
  6. Mark Chapman
  7. Mitchell Santner
  8. Adam Milne
  9. Tim Southee
  10. Ish Sodhi
  11. Ben Sears

The upcoming schedule for the remaining matches in the series is as follows:
– 3rd T20 – 17 January 2024 at University Oval, Dunedin
– 4th T20 – 19 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch
– 5th T20 – 21 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here