pak vs sa: Pakistan’s Troubled World Cup Journey

pak vs sa: Pakistan's Troubled World Cup Journey

ICC World Cup match no.26 was played between pak vs sa at MA Chidambaram Stadium. In this tense match, South Africa chased a 271-run target at the loss of 9 wickets.


Pakistan have now lost 4 games back to back and left with only 3 games. For the first time in the history of CWC green team has lost 4 consecutive games.

Pakistan tried really hard to get that last wicket, but in the end, they couldn’t make it happen during the night at Chidambaram.

Here are point tables after Pakistan’s defeat: ICC World Cup Points Table 2023 Update

From Pakistan Batting, Babar Azam (50) and Saud Shakeel (52) were Pakistan’s top run-scorers as they put up 270 runs in their first innings.

Seven of the top eight batsmen managed to score in double figures. However, Tabraiz Shamsi took four crucial wickets, slowing down Pakistan’s scoring, and they got bowled out in the 47th over.

South Africa’s bowlers, despite the scorching weather and the absence of the injured Kagiso Rabada, performed exceptionally well.

Aiden Markram was on the verge of a century, but he got out just nine runs short, thanks to concussion substitute Usama Mir. This created a tense situation at Chidambaram Stadium.

South Africa managed to hold on, with Maharaj hitting the winning shot, leading to jubilant celebrations.

In their pursuit of 271, South Africa’s top-order batsmen made a strong start. However, Quinton de Kock (24) was dismissed early by Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Temba Bavuma (28) was removed by Mohammad Wasim. A significant partnership ended when concussion substitute Usama Mir had Rassie van der Dussen (21) dismissed. Heinrich Klaasen fell quickly, with Wasim taking his wicket.

Aiden Markram, batting at number four, formed a valuable partnership with David Miller, guiding South Africa to a strong position. Miller contributed with a quick 29 runs from 33 balls. Shaheen Shah Afridi took Miller’s wicket, providing a glimmer of hope for Pakistan.

Marco Jansen contributed 20 runs, and South Africa needed only 36 to win when he got caught by Babar off Haris Rauf. Shaheen Shah Afridi tried to keep Pakistan’s hopes alive with some excellent bowling.

Haris Rauf came close to securing the win for Pakistan. He took a stunning catch and bowled to remove Lungi Ngidi. He also thought he had Tabraiz Shamsi dismissed, but the umpire’s decision saved Shamsi.

In the end, South Africa kept their composure to secure the win, defying their reputation in the process.

In the hot and humid conditions of Chennai, Pakistan chose to bat first after winning the toss, making two changes to their lineup. Hasan Ali’s illness led to Mohammad Wasim Jr. replacing him, while Mohammad Nawaz replaced Usama Mir.

As expected, South Africa’s regular captain, Temba Bavuma, returned to lead the team. Bavuma mentioned that they would have preferred to bat first in the hot conditions. Tabraiz Shamsi and Lungi Ngidi were included in the team, but Kagiso Rabada was absent due to a lower back issue.

The South African pacers, especially Marco Jansen, troubled the batsmen with their disciplined bowling. Jansen dismissed opener Abdullah Shafique (9).

Babar Azam took charge early, helped by a no-ball, which he dispatched for four. However, Imam-ul-Haq lost his wicket in the seventh over.

Pakistan remained aggressive, with Mohammad Rizwan supporting Babar with his attacking shots. However, Rizwan’s dismissal left Pakistan three down. Captain Babar was then joined by Iftikhar Ahmed.

Tabraiz Shamsi played a crucial role in tightening the screws on Pakistan, taking two important wickets after the 25-over mark. Shamsi removed Iftikhar (21) and Babar, thanks to a review by Quinton de Kock.

Saud Shakeel and Shadab Khan revived Pakistan’s innings with a crucial partnership. Shakeel scored a run-a-ball 52, while Mohammad Nawaz contributed 24. South Africa, however, managed to maintain control by taking wickets regularly, ultimately bowling Pakistan out for 270.

Tabraiz Shamsi’s figures of 4/60 were pivotal, and Marco Jansen’s 3/43 from nine overs were also noteworthy.

pak vs sa playing XI

Pakistan XI:

  1. Abdullah Shafique
  2. Imam-ul-Haq
  3. Babar Azam (c)
  4. Mohammad Rizwan
  5. Saud Shakeel
  6. Iftikhar Ahmed
  7. Shadab Khan
  8. Mohammad Nawaz
  9. Shaheen Afridi
  10. Haris Rauf
  11. Wasim Jr

South Africa XI:

  1. Quinton de Kock
  2. Temba Bavuma (c)
  3. Rassie van der Dussen
  4. Aiden Markram
  5. Heinrich Klaasen
  6. David Miller
  7. Marco Jansen
  8. Gerald Coetzee
  9. Keshav Maharaj
  10. Tabraiz Shmshi
  11. Lungi Ngidi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here