Pakistan vs New Zealand rain expected to spoil clash in Bengaluru

Pakistan vs New Zealand rain expected to spoil clash in Bengaluru

The upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 match between Pakistan and New Zealand, set for November 4 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, faces the threat of rain. The match is scheduled to begin at 10:00 a.m.


Weather forecasts indicate a high probability of rain, ranging from 70 to 80 percent, during Saturday afternoon in Bengaluru. This rain could potentially affect the match’s outcome.

For Pakistan, winning against New Zealand this week is crucial, and doing so by a significant margin is even more important. If Pakistan wins by 84 runs or chases down the target in 35 overs, it would put them ahead of New Zealand in the tournament standings.

In case the match is washed out due to bad weather, both teams would receive one point each. However, it’s important to note that a washout would not impact the net run rate calculations.

In a recent match, South Africa defeated New Zealand by a significant margin of 190 runs. This result has provided some assistance to Pakistan’s chances. Pakistan’s path to the World Cup semi-finals remains challenging, with several obstacles ahead.

To secure a spot in the semi-finals, Pakistan needs to win their remaining matches. Ideally, Pakistan should beat New Zealand in the upcoming game and hope that New Zealand loses to Sri Lanka. If this scenario plays out, New Zealand would end the group stage with eight points, and Pakistan could qualify for the knockout stage with 10 points by winning their next two matches.

Currently, Pakistan is in fifth place with six points, while New Zealand holds the fourth spot with eight points.

Pakistan vs New Zealand ICC World Cup Squad

Pakistan Squad:

  • Babar Azam (Captain)
  • Shadab Khan (vc)
  • Shaheen Afridi
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  •  Hasan Ali
  • Salman Ali Agha
  • Usama Mir
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Haris Rauf
  • Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  • Abdullah Shafique
  • Saud Shakeel
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Mohammad Wasim Jr
  • Fakhar Zaman

New Zealand Squad:

  • Kane Williamson (Captain)
  • Trent Boult
  • Mark Chapman
  • Devon Conway
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Matt Henry
  • Tom Latham (wk)
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • James Neesham
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Rachin Ravindra
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee
  • Will Young


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here