sa vs nz: South Africa winning streak continues with Black caps defeat

sa vs nz: South Africa winning streak continues with Black caps defeat

ICC World Cup match no 32 was played between two top teams sa vs nz at the Maharashtra Cricket Association, Pune. South Africa’s winning streak continues as Blackcap is in trouble for the semi-finals.


In the highly anticipated game between New Zealand and South Africa, the Proteas dominated in all aspects of the game. New Zealand’s key batters struggled to make significant scores.

Glenn Phillips was the top scorer for New Zealand with 60 runs, followed by Will Young with 33 runs, but their efforts fell short in the face of a challenging target of 358 runs.

See ICC World Cup Points Table 2023 Update

Rachin Ravindra, who had been a key player for New Zealand in a previous match against Australia, could only manage nine runs before falling to Marco Jansen.

New Zealand lost wickets consistently and were eventually bowled out for 167 runs. South Africa’s Keshav Maharaj took four wickets, Jansen claimed three, and Gerald Coetzee dismissed two batsmen.

In their innings, South Africa’s Temba Bavuma provided a good start with 24 runs but lost his wicket to Trent Boult. However, Quinton de Kock and Rassie van der Dussen formed a remarkable partnership of 200 runs.

De Kock scored 114 runs, marking his fourth century in the World Cup. He now holds the record for the wicketkeeper-batsman with the most runs in a single edition of the tournament.

Van der Dussen also played a crucial role, scoring 133 runs off 118 balls, which included nine fours and five sixes. David Miller’s quick 53 runs off 30 balls helped South Africa reach a competitive total of 357 runs.

New Zealand’s bowlers struggled to contain the dominant South African batsmen. The Black Caps are set to face Pakistan in an important match on November 4 in Bengaluru, with the outcome potentially influencing their chances of reaching the semi-finals. South Africa will play against India on November 5 in Kolkata.

sa vs nz playing XI

South Africa Playing XI:

  1. Temba Bavuma
  2. Quinton de Kock
  3. Rassie van der Dussen
  4. Aiden Markram
  5. Heinrich Klaasen
  6. David Miller
  7. Marco Jansen
  8. Gerald Coetzee
  9. Keshav Maharaj
  10. Tabraiz Shamsi
  11. Kagiso Rabada

New Zealand Playing XI:

  1. Devon Conway
  2. Will Young
  3. Rachin Ravindra
  4. Daryl Mitchell
  5. Glenn Phillips
  6. Tom Latham
  7. Jimmy Neesham
  8. Mitchell Santner
  9. Lockie Ferguson
  10. Matt Henry
  11. Trent Boult


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here