Pakistan vs Sri Lanka: Abdullah and Rizwan Lead Pakistan to Historic Victory

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka: Abdullah and Rizwan Lead Pakistan to Historic Victory

ICC World Cup match no 8 was between Pakistan vs Sri Lanka on 10 oct at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.


The Sri Lanka Team set a big total against Pakistan of 344 runs. Brilliant batting by Kusal Mendis and Sadeera Samarawickrama.

Pakistan also goes up in the points table: ICC World Cup Points Table 2023 Update

The Opener batsman Abdullah Shaiuqe and Muhammad Rizwan helped Pakistan to make this historic win.

Abdullah Shafiuqe played his first World Cup match against Sri Lanka and played an innings of  113 runs.

However, he was the first Pakistani batsman who made the record of a century in his debut.

Muhammad Rizwan star player of the green team was 131 not out. He made his 3rd ODI International Century.

Furthermore, Saud Shakeel made 31 runs, Iftikhar Ahmed 22(not-out) and 12 runs continuation from Imam-ul-Haq.

Pakistani Skipper Babar Azam gave a disappointing performance as early dismissed by Dilshan.

Abdullah and Rizwan was the key player who built a strong partnership of 176 runs as Pakistan lost their first 2 wickets on 37-2.

Additionally, it was Pakistan’s highest chase in World Cup history. Green Team has also had to head 8 victories against Sri Lanka.

Batting first, Kusal Mendis and Sadeera Samarawickrama’s remarkable partnership propelled Sri Lanka to a massive total of 344 runs. This total surpassed India’s 336 in the 2019 World Cup in Manchester, England, making it the highest-ever total against Pakistan in a World Cup match.

Mendis showcased his brilliance by scoring 122 runs from just 77 deliveries, boasting an impressive strike rate of 158.44. His innings included 14 boundaries and six powerful sixes.

On the other hand, Samarawickrama continued the momentum and achieved a century, accumulating 108 runs from 89 balls, including 13 boundaries.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka Playing XI

Pakistan Squad:

  1. Abdullah Shafique
  2. Imam-ul-Haq
  3. Babar Azam (C)
  4. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  5. Saud Shakeel
  6. Iftikhar Ahmed
  7. Mohammad Nawaz
  8. Shadab Khan
  9. Hasan Ali
  10. Shaheen Afridi
  11. Haris Rauf

Sri Lanka:

  1. Kusal Perera
  2. Pathum Nissanka
  3. Kusal Mendis (wk)
  4. Sadeera Samarawickrama
  5. Charith Asalanka
  6. Dhananjaya de Silva
  7. Dasun Shanaka (c)
  8. Dunith Wellalage
  9. Matheesha Pathirana
  10. Kasun Rajitha
  11. Mahesh Theekshana


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here