Pakistan Women’s Squad Announced for New Zealand Tour

Pakistan Women's Cricket Squad Announced for New Zealand Tour

Pakistan women’s squad for the upcoming New Zealand tour has been revealed by the national selection committee, led by Saleem Jaffar.


The 17-member team includes returning players Fatima Sana, Omaima Sohail, and Shawaal Zulfiqar, set to tour next month.

The team is lined up for three T20Is in Dunedin and Queenstown from 3rd to 9th December. Following this, they’ll take on three ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 ODIs against New Zealand from 12th to 18th December in Queenstown and Christchurch.

Omaima Sohail, with a strong all-round performance in the recent T20 series, and young Shawaal Zulfiqar, who impressed with her batting, have earned their spots in the squad. Fatima Sana, recovering from injury, rejoins after missing the Bangladesh series.

The squad is assembling in Karachi on 18th November for a four-day training camp at the Hanif Mohammad High-Performance Centre. Departure for New Zealand is scheduled from Karachi via Dubai on 24th November.

Saleem Jaffar, the Chief Selector, highlighted the strategic changes made considering the batting challenges faced in Bangladesh. The inclusion of Sohail and Zulfiqar aims to fortify the batting department, while Sana’s return bolsters the fast bowling unit for the conditions expected in New Zealand.

The squad, led by captain Nida Dar, comprises key players like Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, and Diana Baig. The support staff includes Nahida Khan as manager and Mauhtashim Rashid as the interim head coach.

The series against New Zealand includes T20Is on the 3rd, 5th, and 9th of December, followed by ODIs on the 12th, 15th, and 18th of December as part of the ICC Women’s Championship.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here