PCB provides details on the Hanif Mohammad Trophy

PCB provides details on the Hanif Mohammad Trophy

The grade-II four-day competition has been renamed the Hanif Mohammad Trophy by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), in honor of one of the forefathers of Pakistan cricket’s early years.


Ten regional teams from the domestic 2023–24 season will compete.

The Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, the main first-class competition, will be accessible to the regional teams through the Hanif Mohammad Trophy. The team that triumphs in this competition advances to the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy. While the squad that places last in the first-class competition put in the grade-II competition.

PCB Management Committee Chairperson Zaka Ashraf stated:

“I would like to pay tribute to a cricket legend who has left an unforgettable impression on the hearts of cricket enthusiasts worldwide, including those in Pakistan. His grace, dedication, and timeless contributions to the sport have made him a true icon.”

“It is important that we honor our heroes and act in a way that respects their memory.”

Shoaib Mohammad, a former Test cricketer for Pakistan and the son of Hanif Mohammad said:

“My family and I are grateful to Zaka Ashraf and the Pakistan Cricket Board for recognizing my father’s achievements in the game of cricket”.

“The board recognizes the early players who established Pakistan’s presence on the world stage. I hope his career serves as an example for our future domestic cricketers so they can represent one day Pakistan.”

Hanif Mohammad, known as the “Little Master,” was one of Pakistan cricket’s top batting prospects in the sport’s early years.

A Pakistani cricketer debuted in 1952 opening the batting in Delhi. He played in 55 Test matches, scoring 3,915 runs with 12 centuries and 15 half-centuries. His average was 43.98.


The longest Test innings ever was played by a Pakistani player in 1958 against West Indies at Bridgetown. He batted for 970 minutes and scored 337 runs, which is still the highest score for a Pakistani player in the format.

He also captained Pakistan in 11 Tests from 1964 to 1967 before retiring in 1969.

Hanif Mohammad Trophy 2023-2024 :

The non-first-class tournament, Hanif Mohammad Trophy, will kick off simultaneously with the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy on September 10. It will showcase 10 regions divided into two groups. Following the group stage, the top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 4 stage, where each team will play three matches.

After the Super 4 stage, the leading team will secure a spot in next year’s Quaid-e-Azam Trophy. The Hanif Mohammad Trophy matches will be held in Mirpur, Multan, Muzaffarabad, and Rahim Yar Khan.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here