PCB Announces Pakistan Team Selection Panel

PCB Announces Pakistan Team Selection Panel

Kamran Akmal, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, and Salman Butt have officially begun their roles in the Pakistan team selection panel.


The PCB confirmed their appointment as consultant members to chief selector Wahab Riaz.

Their duties in the selection panel have already started, and their initial task involves the upcoming five-match T20I series against New Zealand, beginning on January 12, 2024, right after the completion of the Test tour in Australia.

When not occupied with selection duties, these consultants might also be assigned other responsibilities, like organizing skill camps.

Kamran Akmal, who had a career spanning 15 years from 2002 to 2017, participated in 53 Tests, 157 ODIs, and 58 T20Is, scoring a total of 6,871 runs and claiming 453 dismissals behind the stumps.

He notably contributed to Pakistan’s victory in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2009.

Rao Iftikhar Anjum, who played from 2004 to 2010, appeared in a Test, 62 ODIs, and two T20Is, securing 78 international wickets.

He was part of the T20 World Cup-winning team in 2009.

Salman Butt, the former Test captain, represented Pakistan in 33 Tests, 78 ODIs, and 24 T20Is, accumulating 5,209 runs and registering 11 international centuries. He was also part of the victorious T20 World Cup squad in 2009.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here