Quetta Gladiators Drop Sarfaraz Ahmed from Captaincy Role for PSL 9

South Africa's Rilee Rossouw and Pakistan's Saud Shakeel are reportedly the frontrunners for the captaincy

Quetta Gladiators Drop Sarfaraz Ahmed from Captaincy Role for PSL 9

Quetta Gladiators have made a decision to replace Sarfaraz Ahmed as captain ahead of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season nine, confirmed by owner Nadeem Omer.


According to Nadeem, Sarfaraz Ahmed expressed his desire to step down from the captaincy, allowing new head coach Shane Watson to consult with the team management and select the new leader.

South Africa’s Rilee Rossouw and Pakistan’s Saud Shakeel are reportedly the frontrunners for the captaincy, with an official announcement expected soon.

Under Sarfaraz’s leadership, Quetta Gladiators reached three finals and clinched the title in 2019. Nadeem expressed delight at Watson’s return as coach and expressed a desire for Kevin Pietersen to also join the team in some capacity.

Quetta Gladiators PSL 9 squad includes a mix of international and local players, with matches scheduled across Karachi, Lahore, Multan, and Rawalpindi. The tournament will culminate with the final at Karachi’s National Bank Stadium on March 18.

Similar to previous editions, PSL 9 will be divided into two legs, with matches initially held in Multan and Lahore before moving to Rawalpindi and Karachi for the latter part of the tournament. The playoffs will also take place in Karachi.

Quetta Gladiators PSL 9 squad

Rilee Rossouw (Platinum), Mohammad Wasim, Jason Roy, Wanindu Hasaranga (all Diamond), Sarfaraz Ahmed (Brand Ambassador) Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain (all Gold), Mohammad Amir, Will Smeed (Silver) Saud Shakeel, Sajjad Ali, Usman Qadir, Adil Naz, Khawaja Nafay, Akeal Hosein, Sohail Khan, Omair Yousuf, Sherfane Rutherford, Bismillah Khan (partial replacement for Wanindu Hasaranga), Sufiyan Muqeem

Quetta Gladiators PSL 9 schedule

  • February 18, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Peshawar Zalmi, Gaddafi Stadium Lahore
  • February 19, 2024 Lahore Qalandars v Quetta Gladiators, Gaddafi Stadium Lahore
  • February 22, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Islamabad United, Gaddafi Stadium Lahore
  • February 25, 2024 Multan Sultans v Quetta Gladiators, Multan Cricket Stadium
  • February 29, 2024, Karachi Kings v Quetta Gladiators, National Bank Stadium
  • March 2, 2024, Islamabad United v Quetta Gladiators, Pindi Cricket Stadium
  • March 6, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Karachi Kings, Pindi Cricket Stadium
  • March 8, 2024 Peshawar Zalmi v Quetta Gladiators, Pindi Cricket Stadium
  • March 10, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Lahore Qalandars, National Bank Stadium
  • March 12, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Multan Sultans, National Bank Stadium


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here