Reaction to Hafeez’s Canberra Pitch Comments Cricket Australia CEO Speaks Out

Reaction to Hafeez’s Canberra Pitch Comments Cricket Australia CEO Speaks Out

Cricket Australia’s CEO, Nick Hockley, responded to Mohammad Hafeez from Pakistan’s cricket team regarding the Canberra pitch used in a practice match against Prime Minister XI.


Hafeez expressed disappointment, labeling it the slowest pitch experienced by any visiting team in Australia.

Hockley’s response highlighted the game as a crucial opportunity for Pakistan to adapt to Australian conditions. Despite weather disruptions, he emphasized the value of the match for Pakistani batters.

Acknowledging the high-scoring affair from both sides, Hockley saw it as a confidence booster for Pakistan. He praised the exceptional batting, particularly the captain’s remarkable 200, showcasing skill and resilience.

The CEO commended Pakistan’s competitive spirit on the field and lauded the immense support displayed by Pakistani fans during the T20 World Cup in Melbourne.

Looking ahead to the upcoming series, Hockley expressed excitement, expecting a significant show of support from Pakistani fans during the Benaud Qadir Trophy matches in Perth, Melbourne, and Sydney.

The Australia tour schedule includes three Tests, starting at Perth Stadium on December 14 against Pakistan.

PM’s XI squad

  1. Nathan McSweeney (c)
  2. Cameron Bancroft
  3. Cameron Green
  4. Marcus Harris
  5. Nathan McAndrew
  6. Todd Murphy
  7. Michael Neser
  8. Jimmy Peirson
  9. Matthew Renshaw
  10. Mark Steketee
  11. Beau Webster

This fixture will also involve support from ATC Premier players, offering them a chance to train and learn alongside top domestic talents.

Pakistan squad for the Australia Tests

  1. Shan Masood (captain)
  2. Aamir Jamal
  3. Abdullah Shafique
  4. Abrar Ahmed
  5. Babar Azam
  6. Faheem Ashraf
  7. Hasan Ali
  8. Imam-ul-Haq
  9. Khurram Shahzad
  10. Mir Hamza
  11. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  12. Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  13. Noman Ali
  14. Saim Ayub
  15. Salman Ali Agha
  16. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
  17. Saud Shakeel
  18. Shaheen Shah Afridi

AUS vs PAK Tour Schedule

The tour schedule outlines a four-day match between PM’s XI and Pakistan from December 6-9 at Manuka Oval, Canberra. Subsequently, the Test series between Australia and Pakistan is set to unfold at Perth Stadium (December 14-18), Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) from December 26-30, and the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) from January 3-7.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here