Sajid Khan Considered as Potential Replacement for Abrar Ahmed in Pakistan Test Squad for Australia

Sajid Khan Considered as Potential Replacement for Abrar Ahmed in Pakistan Test Squad for Australia

Pakistan might bring in off-spinner Sajid Khan for the Test series against Australia, swapping him for leg-spinner Abrar Ahmed.


Abrar might sit out the first Test beginning on December 14 in Perth due to discomfort in his right leg.

Team management and selectors are thinking of adding Sajid to the squad, considering the number of left-handers in the Australian team.

Sajid might not reach Australia before the Perth Test due to visa formalities. But if Abrar is out for the entire series, Sajid will join the squad.

The Pakistan team is waiting for Abrar’s MRI report to understand the extent of his injury. He felt discomfort during the four-day match against Prime Minister’s XI in Canberra.

The decision on a replacement depends on what the MRI reveals.

Abrar bowled for 27 overs in the game against Prime Minister’s XI, part of Pakistan’s prep for the Test series.

PM’s XI squad

  1. Nathan McSweeney (c)
  2. Cameron Bancroft
  3. Cameron Green
  4. Marcus Harris
  5. Nathan McAndrew
  6. Todd Murphy
  7. Michael Neser
  8. Jimmy Peirson
  9. Matthew Renshaw
  10. Mark Steketee
  11. Beau Webster

This fixture will also involve support from ATC Premier players, offering them a chance to train and learn alongside top domestic talents.

Pakistan squad for the Australia Tests

  1. Shan Masood (captain)
  2. Aamir Jamal
  3. Abdullah Shafique
  4. Abrar Ahmed
  5. Babar Azam
  6. Faheem Ashraf
  7. Hasan Ali
  8. Imam-ul-Haq
  9. Khurram Shahzad
  10. Mir Hamza
  11. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  12. Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  13. Noman Ali
  14. Saim Ayub
  15. Salman Ali Agha
  16. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
  17. Saud Shakeel
  18. Shaheen Shah Afridi

The tour schedule outlines a four-day match between PM’s XI and Pakistan from December 6-9 at Manuka Oval, Canberra. Subsequently, the Test series between Australia and Pakistan is set to unfold at Perth Stadium (December 14-18), Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) from December 26-30, and the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) from January 3-7.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here