Australian Prime Minister Extends Welcome to Pakistan men’s cricket team at Parliament House

Australian Prime Minister Extends Welcome to Pakistan men's cricket team at Parliament House

The Pakistan men’s cricket team joined an event in Canberra on Tuesday, hosted by Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese at Parliament House.


A big match is on the horizon as Pakistan faces off against PM’s XI in a four-day match starting Wednesday, December 6, 2023, followed by a Test series against Australia commencing on December 14 at Perth Stadium.

Prime Minister Albanese warmly welcomed both teams and anticipated an enjoyable match between PM’s XI and the Pakistan side. He praised Pakistan’s quality as a team, expressing hope for a thrilling Test series.

During the event, Pakistan Test captain Shan Masood emphasized the historical significance of this fixture, dating back to 1951. He expressed immense excitement about playing against PM’s XI, highlighting Pakistan’s strength as a formidable competitor.

Captain Masood assured everyone that Pakistan is not just geared up and eager for this match but also prepared to tackle the challenges of the upcoming Test series against Australia.

Shan Masood leads Pakistan in his first stint as Test captain, having taken over from Babar Azam for the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 cycle last month.

Meanwhile, Australia will be under the captaincy of Pat Cummins, who recently led his team to victory in the 50-over World Cup in India.

The first Test in Perth will be followed by a match in Melbourne from December 26-30, and the tour will conclude with a game in Sydney from January 3-7, 2024.

Australia Squad for Test Series:

  1. David Warner
  2. Usman Khawaja
  3. Marnus Labuschagne
  4. Steve Smith
  5. Travis Head
  6. Mitchell Marsh
  7. Alex Carey
  8. Pat Cummins (captain)
  9. Mitchell Starc
  10. Nathan Lyon
  11. Josh Hazlewood
  12. Scott Boland
  13. Cameron Green
  14. Lance Morris

Pakistan men’s cricket team against PM XI:

  1. Shan Masood (captain)
  2. Aamir Jamal
  3. Abdullah Shafique
  4. Abrar Ahmed
  5. Babar Azam
  6. Faheem Ashraf
  7. Hasan Ali
  8. Imam-ul-Haq
  9. Khurram Shahzad
  10. Mir Hamza
  11. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  12. Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  13. Noman Ali
  14. Saim Ayub
  15. Salman Ali Agha
  16. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
  17. Saud Shakeel
  18. Shaheen Shah Afridi

Australia Tour Schedule:

  • Four-day Match: PM’s XI vs Pakistan – December 6-9: Manuka Oval, Canberra
  • 1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium
  • 2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
  • 3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here