Champions Trophy 2025: PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi made big Announcements

Champions Trophy 2025: PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi made big Announcements

The newly-elected Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced some big statements regarding the ICC Champions Trophy 2025.


The Champions Trophy 2025 will be hosted by Pakistan Team. Chairman PCB, Naqvi has ordered the upgrade of 3 major stadiums in Pakistan.

The three major stadiums are National Bank Stadium Karachi, Rawalpindi Stadium, and Gaddafi Stadium Lahore before the start of the ICC Trophy 2025.

In the meeting on Friday, the Chairman ordered the completion of the structure of Gaddafi Stadium Lahore within 3 days as the idea is to upgrade the Lahore stadium in the first phase.

“The upgrade of all three stadiums will be completed before the Champions Trophy,” Naqvi said.

In the second phase, Karachi and Pindi’s stadium will be prepared and the renovation will begin.

“In the second phase, the design plan for the upgrade of National Cricket Stadium Karachi and Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium will be prepared and work will commence. Facilities for cricket fans will be improved in stadiums. According to the need, seating capacity will be increased in stadiums” Naqvi said.

“Facilities in the boxes of Gaddafi Stadium will be improved. The upgrade work will be completed with quality and speed” he concluded.

Remember, the PCB finalized the deal with the International Cricket Council (ICC) in December.

The event will mark the return of the ICC Champions Trophy after an eight-year gap since its last occurrence in 2017, which Pakistan won. Some Test-playing nations such as Sri Lanka and West Indies missed out on this global tournament, with Sri Lanka failing to secure a top-eight position in the ICC World Cup 2023 points table.

For the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy, a total of eight teams will participate, following the One Day International (ODI) format. The qualification process involved the top seven teams from the ICC ODI World Cup group stage, along with the host nation, Pakistan, securing their positions for this upcoming tournament.

 2025 ICC Champions Trophy are:

Pakistan (hosts), India, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan, England, Bangladesh



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here