Lahore Triumphs Over Karachi in National Women’s T20 Tournament

Lahore Triumphs Over Karachi in National Women's T20 Tournament

Fueled by Bismah Maroof’s unbeaten half-century, Lahore secured a narrow victory over Karachi in the National Women’s T20 Tournament at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium on Monday.


In response to Lahore’s 149-5 in 20 overs, Karachi fell nine runs short, posting 140-6 in their innings. Bismah, with an impressive 54 not out, emerged as Lahore’s highest scorer and rightfully earned the player of the match title. Ayesha Zafar contributed 17 not out to Lahore’s total.

Check: Pakistan Domestic Cricket 2023-2024 Season Schedule

Aroob claimed two wickets, while Fatima, Maham, and Rameen each took one. Karachi faced early setbacks in the chase, losing both openers during the powerplay. Fatima Khan dismissed Javeria Khan for two runs, and Muneeba Ali (6) was caught off Nida’s bowling.

Omaima Sohail and Yusra Amir formed a 32-run partnership for the third wicket, adding some stability to Karachi’s chase. Yusra (16) was run out by Iram, bringing the Karachi skipper to the crease. Fatima and Omaima then contributed to a 55-run stand for the fourth wicket, injecting momentum into the innings. Nashra Sundhu, the left-arm spinner, broke this partnership by dismissing Fatima, who departed after scoring 28 off 22 with five fours.

Subsequently, Aroob (6) was caught by Iram off Noreen Yaqoob, and Ghulam Fatima trapped Omaima (46) leg-before wicket. Fatima Khan, Nida, Nashra, Noreen, and Ghulam Fatima secured a wicket each.

In summary, Lahore clinched a nine-run victory against Karachi at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium in the National Women’s T20 Tournament, with Lahore posting 149-5 in 20 overs (Bismah Maroof 54 not out, Sidra Amin 41, Ayesha Zafar 17 not out).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here