Fatima Sana Leads Pakistan Women to Victory Against New Zealand in First T20I

Fatima Sana Leads Pakistan Women to Victory Against New Zealand in First T20I

Pakistan women’s cricket team secured a convincing seven-wicket victory against New Zealand in the first T20I at Dunedin’s University of Otago Oval on Sunday, led by Shawal Zulfiqar’s solid batting (41 off 42) and Fatima Sana impressive bowling display (3-18).


SEE New Zealand Women Team Announces Squad for Pakistan Home Series

Pakistan opted for a cautious approach during their chase of 128 runs, losing Muneeba Ali after a score of 23 off 24 balls. Despite this setback, Shawal and skipper Nida Dar forged a 51-run partnership before departing in quick succession.

Aliya Riaz and Bismah Maroof’s unbeaten 39-run partnership guided Pakistan over the line, with Riaz sealing the victory with a powerful six.

In the first innings, New Zealand struggled against Fatima’s bowling, losing both openers within the initial eight overs.

Maddy Green fought valiantly, scoring 43 off 28 deliveries, but New Zealand ultimately managed only 127-6 in their allotted overs.

The win sets the stage for an intense series with upcoming matches scheduled on December 5 and 9 for the T20Is, followed by ODIs on December 12, 15, and 18.

New Zealand Squad:

  1. Sophie Devine (c)
  2. Kate Anderson
  3. Suzie Bates
  4. Bernadine Bezuidenhout
  5. Eden Carson (T20I only)
  6. Izzy Gaze (ODI & 1st T20I)
  7. Maddy Green
  8. Fran Jonas
  9. Melie Kerr
  10. Jess Kerr
  11. Molly Penfold
  12. Georgia Plimmer
  13. Hannah Rowe
  14. Lea Tahuhu

Pakistan Squad:

  1. Nida Dar (captain)
  2. Aliya Riaz
  3. Bismah Maroof
  4. Diana Baig
  5. Fatima Sana
  6. Ghulam Fatima
  7. Muneeba Ali (wk)
  8. Najiha Alvi (wk)
  9. Nashra Sundhu
  10. Natalia Parvaiz
  11. Omaima Sohail
  12. Sadaf Shamas
  13. Sadia Iqbal
  14. Shawaal Zulfiqar,
  15. Sidra Amin
  16. Umm-e-Hani
  17. Waheeda Akhtar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here