New Zealand Women Team Announces Squad for Pakistan Home Series

New Zealand Women Team Announces Squad for Pakistan Home Series

The New Zealand women’s team has unveiled a strong lineup for their upcoming series against Pakistan next month, featuring three T20Is and three ODIs at home. This series holds significant importance as a crucial prep for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup set to happen in Bangladesh next year.


The T20Is will happen between 3rd and 9th December in Dunedin and Queenstown, while the ODIs, forming part of the ICC Women’s Championship, will take place in Queenstown and Christchurch from 12th to 18th December.

Sophie Devine will continue leading the New Zealand squad for all matches, counting on the experience of players like Suzie Bates, Lea Tahuhu, and Amelia Kerr. However, Kerr will miss the opening T20I due to her commitments in the WBBL final.

Coach Ben Sawyer is optimistic about refining the team’s skills ahead of the 2024 T20 World Cup, aiming to build on their recent bilateral series successes and solidify their game plan, especially in ODIs, to earn crucial World Championship points.

Sawyer highlighted Pakistan’s strengths, acknowledging their recent matches against Bangladesh, praising their spin attack and resilient batting order.

The New Zealand Women Team squad

  1. Sophie Devine (c)
  2. Kate Anderson
  3. Suzie Bates
  4. Bernadine Bezuidenhout
  5. Eden Carson (T20I only)
  6. Izzy Gaze (ODI & 1st T20I)
  7. Maddy Green
  8. Fran Jonas
  9. Melie Kerr
  10. Jess Kerr
  11. Molly Penfold
  12. Georgia Plimme
  13. Hannah Rowe
  14. Lea Tahuhu

On the other side, the Pakistan women’s team, under Nida Dar’s captaincy, has been gearing up in Christchurch, practicing and playing practice matches against New Zealand XI. Their recent victory in a practice match showcased Nida’s four wickets and a crucial contribution from Najiha Alvi.

Pakistan Squad comprises

  1. Nida Dar (captain)
  2. Aliya Riaz
  3. Bismah Maroof
  4. Diana Baig
  5. Fatima Sana
  6. Ghulam Fatima
  7. Muneeba Ali (wk)
  8. Najiha Alvi (wk)
  9. Nashra Sundhu
  10. Natalia Parvaiz
  11. Omaima Sohail
  12. Sadaf Shamas
  13. Sadia Iqbal
  14. Shawaal Zulfiqar
  15. Sidra Amin
  16. Umm-e-Hani
  17. Waheeda Akhtar

The series will commence with the first T20I on December 3 at the University of Otago Oval in Dunedin, followed by subsequent matches at various venues until December 18.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here