Aus Squad Announced for First Test Clash with Pakistan

Aus Squad Announced for First Test Clash with Pakistan

Aus squad announced for the first Test in the home series against Pakistan, captained by World Cup 2023 victor Pat Cummins.


The series opener is scheduled at Perth Stadium from December 14 to 18. David Warner, who announced his retirement from the longest format after a 12-year career, features in the squad for the initial Test alongside Usman Khawaja.

The team also includes Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, and Mitchell Starc.

Chief selector George Bailey noted there are opportunities for others to prove themselves for the subsequent Tests against Pakistan in Melbourne and Sydney, as well as the series against West Indies.

“We anticipate strong performances from domestic players, many of whom will get a significant chance in the Prime Minister’s XI match against Pakistan,” Bailey said in a statement.

Pakistan, aiming to break a nearly 30-year winless streak in Australia, is currently gearing up for the upcoming series.

Australia Squad:

  1. David Warner
  2. Usman Khawaja
  3. Marnus Labuschagne
  4. Steve Smith
  5. Travis Head
  6. Mitchell Marsh
  7. Alex Carey
  8. Pat Cummins (captain)
  9. Mitchell Starc
  10. Nathan Lyon
  11. Josh Hazlewood
  12. Scott Boland
  13. Cameron Green
  14. Lance Morris

Pakistan Squad:

  1. Shan Masood (captain)
  2. Aamir Jamal
  3. Abdullah Shafique
  4. Abrar Ahmed
  5. Babar Azam
  6. Faheem Ashraf
  7. Hasan Ali
  8. Imam-ul-Haq
  9. Khurram Shahzad
  10. Mir Hamza
  11. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  12. Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  13. Noman Ali
  14. Saim Ayub
  15. Salman Ali Agha
  16. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
  17. Saud Shakeel
  18. Shaheen Shah Afridi

Australia Tour Schedule:

  • Four-day Match: PM’s XI vs Pakistan – December 6-9: Manuka Oval, Canberra
  • 1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium
  • 2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
  • 3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here