ICC T20 World Cup: Azhar Mahmood on Lifting Pakistan’s Spirits After India Match

ICC T20 World Cup: Azhar Mahmood on Lifting Pakistan's Spirits After India Match

Pakistan Team Assistant Coach Azhar Mahmood spoke about the player’s condition after a disappointing loss against India in the ICC T20 World Cup in New York.


Pakistan cricket team which is plating the ICC T20 World Cup under the leadership of Babar Azam failed to chase 120 runs target against India. This was Pakistan’s second consecutive defeat in the World Cup 2024. Azhar Mahmood said:

“After two defeats, everyone is quite disheartened. Losing against India is more disappointing than a defeat against the USA.”

At the moment, everyone’s morale in the team is down, it’s necessary to lift it as we can still bounce back and we won’t lose hope until it’s over,” he added.

Pakistan’s Defeat Disappoints Fans in IND vs PAK World Cup 2024

Mahmood attributed the primary reason for the loss to the shot selection made by Pakistan’s hitters.

“Our shot selection wasn’t right, which led to a run rate of 10. We were playing well until the 15th over. We lost as a team and can’t blame individuals.”

He accepted that the team management was also responsible for the defeat.

“The responsibility of failure lies with the entire management, we all have made mistakes,” he said.

“If a player starts doubting their ability, it becomes very difficult. If we play with confidence in ourselves, it will prove everyone wrong.

“Now there’s no room for misunderstandings. If someone considers any opponent easy, they don’t have a place in international cricket,” he stated.

Pakistan needs to win the next two games against Canada and Ireland to qualify for the Super 8.

Follow Our Offical WhatsApp Channel thestumpblog

“There are players in Canada who can perform against us. We have to win this match at all costs now,” he concluded.

Pakistan T20 World Cup 2024 Squad:

Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Usman Khan.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here