Pakistan Cricket Team Receives Invitation to Australian PM’s Residence

Pakistan Cricket Team Receives Invitation to Australian PM's Residence

Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese has extended an invitation to the Pakistan cricket team to visit the PM House on December 5, following their arrival in Canberra via Sydney for the Test series.


SEE PM XI Test Preparation: Pakistan Cricket Team Lands in Canberra

Led by newly-appointed skipper Shan Masood, Pakistan’s 18-man squad is scheduled to visit the PM House in Canberra on December 5. Alongside this, Zaka Ashraf, the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Management Committee, has been invited by Cricket Australia (CA).

Ashraf is set to witness the second Test, commencing on December 26 at the renowned Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). During his stay Down Under, he’ll engage in crucial discussions with CA members on various matters.

Notably, Pakistan is gearing up for a historic four-day First Class match against the Australian PM XI, marking only the third encounter in history following games in 1990 and 2005. The inaugural PM’s XI match dates back to 1951, and this upcoming event, under PM Albanese, signifies the second after a pandemic-induced hiatus before 2022.

PM’s XI squad

  1. Nathan McSweeney (c)
  2. Cameron Bancroft
  3. Cameron Green
  4. Marcus Harris
  5. Nathan McAndrew
  6. Todd Murphy
  7. Michael Neser
  8. Jimmy Peirson
  9. Matthew Renshaw
  10. Mark Steketee
  11. Beau Webster

This fixture will also involve support from ATC Premier players, offering them a chance to train and learn alongside top domestic talents.

Pakistan squad for the Australia Tests

  1. Shan Masood (captain)
  2. Aamir Jamal
  3. Abdullah Shafique
  4. Abrar Ahmed
  5. Babar Azam
  6. Faheem Ashraf
  7. Hasan Ali
  8. Imam-ul-Haq
  9. Khurram Shahzad
  10. Mir Hamza
  11. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  12. Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  13. Noman Ali
  14. Saim Ayub
  15. Salman Ali Agha
  16. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
  17. Saud Shakeel
  18. Shaheen Shah Afridi

The tour schedule outlines a four-day match between PM’s XI and Pakistan from December 6-9 at Manuka Oval, Canberra. Subsequently, the Test series between Australia and Pakistan is set to unfold at Perth Stadium (December 14-18), Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) from December 26-30, and the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) from January 3-7.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here