Pakistan’s Nida Dar Absence, Fatima Sana to Lead Against New Zealand

Pakistan's Nida Dar Absence, Fatima Sana to Lead Against New Zealand

The Pakistan Cricket Board has named Fatima Sana as the captain for the Pakistan women’s team in place of Nida Dar, who won’t be available for the second ODI against New Zealand in Christchurch on December 15.


SEE Pakistan Women Make History with First T20I Series Triumph in Dunedin

Nida Dar took a hit to her face during the first ODI on Tuesday in the 44th over of New Zealand’s innings. After a medical assessment today, she’s displaying concussion symptoms and has been advised two days of complete rest. Her status for the third ODI will be assessed later.

Sana, who debuted internationally in May 2019 against South Africa, PCB decided to make Fatima Sana the 10th captain for the women’s team in ODIs.

“It’s an honor to lead the Pakistan women’s team, although it’s unfortunate with Nida Dar’s injury. She’s been an inspiration, and I wish her a speedy recovery,” said Sana.

Despite a tough start in the first ODI where Pakistan faced a defeat, Sana is optimistic about the team’s performance in the upcoming game.

Pakistan is currently trailing 1-0 in the three-match series.

Pakistan Women Squad Against Black Caps:

  1. Fatima Sana (captain)
  2. Aliya Riaz
  3. Bismah Maroof
  4. Ghulam Fatima
  5. Muneeba Ali (wk)
  6. Najiha Alvi (wk)
  7. Nashra Sundhu
  8. Natalia Parvaiz
  9. Omaima Sohail
  10. Sadaf Shamas
  11. Sadia Iqbal
  12. Sidra Amin
  13. Umm-e-Hani
  14. Waheeda Akhtar

Pakistan Women schedule :

  1.  December 15: 2nd ODI, Christchurch (2 pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship
  2.  December 18: 3rd ODI, Christchurch (2 pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here