psl match today: Zalami Short by 17 Runs Against Quetta Galadiators

psl match today: Zalami Short by 17 Runs Against Quetta Galadiators

Quetta Gladiators kicked off their PSL season 9 journey with an impressive 16-run victory against Peshawar Zalmi in psl match today at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.


Led by Babar Azam, Zalmi’s chase fell short as Quetta’s bowlers stepped up in the crucial final overs to secure the hard-fought win.

Despite Azam’s valiant 68-run effort off 42 balls, which included eight boundaries, Zalmi couldn’t chase down the target set by the Gladiators.

The match started with a promise for Zalmi, with Saim Ayub and Azam building a strong partnership heading towards a century stand. However, a miscommunication between the two batsmen in the ninth over cost them dearly, resulting in Saim’s run out for 42 runs.

Despite Mohammad Haris briefly stepping in, Zalmi continued to lose wickets, and Azam’s dismissal by Abrar Ahmed proved crucial.

With wickets tumbling, Quetta’s bowlers put up an outstanding performance, restricting Zalmi to 190 for six wickets, clinching the match by 16 runs.

psl match today in the first innings, Jason Roy and Saud Shakeel dominated the Zalmi bowlers, forming a formidable 157-run partnership.

Shakeel’s departure after a brilliant 74 off 47 balls, adorned with ten boundaries and four sixes, was followed by Gladiators’ skipper Rilee Rossouw’s brief cameo.

Roy’s clinical knock of 75 runs from 48 balls, featuring nine boundaries and two sixes, ended with Salman Irshad’s dismissal in the 18th over. Sherfane Rutherford and Mohammad Wasim Jr. contributed valuable runs in the final overs, with Khawaja Nafay finishing with a boundary to lift the Gladiators’ total to 206 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

Irshad starred with the ball for Zalmi, picking up three wickets, while Wood and Zeeshan chipped in with one wicket each.

Quetta Gladiators vs Peshawar Zalmi Playing XI:

Peshawar Zalmi Playing XI:

  1. Jason Roy
  2. Saud Shakeel
  3. Rilee Rossouw
  4. Sherfane Rutherford
  5. Khawaja Nafay
  6. Muhammad Wasim
  7. Sarfraz Ahmed
  8. Akeal Hosien
  9. Muhammad Hasnain
  10. Muhammad Amir
  11. Abrar Ahmed

Quetta Gladiators Playing XI:

  1. Saim Ayub
  2. Babar Azam
  3. Mohammad Haris
  4. Tom Kohler-Cadmore
  5. Rovman Powell
  6. Dan Mousely
  7. Asif Ali
  8. Aamir Jamal
  9. Luke Wood
  10. Mohammad Zeeshan
  11. Salman Irshad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here