Shadab Shares Thoughts on Rizwan’s Vice-Captaincy in Pakistan’s T20I Team

Shadab Shares Thoughts on Rizwan's Vice-Captaincy in Pakistan's T20I Team

In the T20I team, Mohammad Rizwan has been chosen as the vice-captain, confirmed by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday. Shadab khan Congragulates Mohammad Rizwan for his new role in Team.


Rizwan’s first task will be assisting Shaheen Afridi during the five-match T20I series against New Zealand, happening from January 12th to 21st across different cities.

Meanwhile, Shadab Khan, the former deputy to Babar Azam in white-ball cricket, has expressed his full support for Rizwan. On X (formerly Twitter), Shadab congratulated Rizwan on his vice-captaincy and backed him to excel alongside Shaheen Afridi. He urged fans to rally behind the team during the series against NZ.

Notably, Shadab is recuperating from an ankle injury and won’t be part of the squad for the New Zealand series. Today, the Pakistan team arrived in Auckland from Sydney, gearing up for training sessions starting tomorrow.

It’s worth mentioning that Pakistan faced a tough 3-0 defeat in the Test series against Australia. Here’s the squad for the New Zealand T20Is and the schedule:

Pakistan T20I squad for New Zealand Tour:

  1. Shaheen Shah Afridi (captain)
  2. Aamir Jamal
  3. Abbas Afridi
  4. Azam Khan (wk)
  5. Babar Azam
  6. Fakhar Zaman
  7. Haris Rauf
  8. Haseebullah (wk)
  9. Iftikhar Ahmed
  10. Mohammad Nawaz
  11. Mohammad Rizwan (vc/wk)
  12. Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  13. Sahibzada Farhan
  14. Saim Ayub
  15. Usama Mir
  16. Zaman Khan

Schedule for New Zealand Tour:

  1. 1st T20 on January 12, 2024, at Eden Park, Auckland
  2. 2nd T20 on January 14, 2024, at Seddon Park, Hamilton
  3. 3rd T20 on January 17, 2024, at University Oval, Dunedin
  4. 4th T20 on January 19, 2024, at Hagley Oval, Christchurch
  5. 5th T20 on January 21, 2024, at Hagley Oval, Christchurch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here