sl vs ned: Sri Lanka first victory in ICC World Cup 2023

sl vs ned: Sri Lanka first victory in ICC World Cup 2023

The ICC World Cup match no 19 played today between sl vs ned at Ekana Sports City, Lucknow. Lankians, register their first victory in the World Cup by 5 wickets.


In a 10-nation cricket tournament, Sri Lanka was the only team that had not won a game after suffering three consecutive defeats.

However, they managed to secure their first victory in the tournament by successfully chasing a target of 263 runs.

See Sri Lanka’s Position after today’s match: ICC World Cup Points Table 2023 Update

Sri Lanka’s run chase was anchored by Sadeera Samarawickrama, who top-scored with 91 runs from 107 balls, including seven fours. Pathum Nissanka contributed 54 runs from 52 balls, and Charith Asalanka added 44 runs.

After losing two wickets for 52 runs, Nissanka and Samarawickrama built a partnership of 52 runs in 40 balls for the third wicket.

Following Nissanka’s dismissal, Samarawickrama and Asalanka put on 77 runs in 99 balls to keep Sri Lanka on track during the run chase.

Earlier in the match, Sybrand Engelbrecht and Logan van Beek played crucial roles for the Netherlands, both scoring their maiden one-day international fifties.

The Dutch team had a poor start, but Engelbrecht, a South African-born player, reached his fifty off 65 balls with three fours and one six. Van Beek, a New Zealand native, reached his fifty from 68 balls with just one boundary.

Together, they formed a seventh-wicket partnership of 130 runs, helping the Netherlands recover from a precarious position of 91-6. Engelbrecht eventually dismissed for 70, while Van Beek was out for 59. The left-arm seamer Dilshan Madushanka and fast bowler Kasun Rajitha were the key bowlers for Sri Lanka, taking four wickets each.

However, Sri Lanka struggled with their bowling discipline, conceding 33 extras, including 26 wides.

The Netherlands, after winning the toss and choosing to bat, saw early wickets, with Rajitha taking three crucial wickets. Madushanka and spinner Maheesh Theekshana also contributed to the wicket tally.

The Dutch team faced a period of 20 overs without hitting a boundary before Engelbrecht and Van Beek’s partnership came to the rescue.

sl vs ned Squad

Sri Lanka Squad:

  1. Pathum Nissanka
  2. Kusal Perera
  3. Kusal Mendis (c /wk)
  4. Sadeera Samarawickrama
  5. Charith Asalanka
  6. Dhananjaya de Silva
  7. Chamika Karunaratne
  8. Dunith Wellalage
  9. Mahesh Theekshana
  10. Lahiru Kumara
  11. Dilshan Madushanka

Netherlands Squad:

  1. Vikramjit Singh
  2. Max O’Dowd
  3. Colin Ackermann
  4. Bas de Leede
  5. Sybrand Engelbrecht
  6. Teja Nidamanuru
  7. Scott Edwards (c /wk)
  8. Logan van Beek
  9. Roelof van der Merwe
  10. Aryan Dutt
  11. Paul van Meekeren


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here