Zaka Ashraf PCB Chairman Resigns from Management Committee

Zaka Ashraf PCB Chairman Resigns from Management Committee

Zaka Ashraf PCB Chairman of the Management Committee (MC), has officially resigned. The decision was announced during the fourth MC meeting at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore. Among the ten committee members, Mr Khurram Karim Somroo joined the meeting online, while the remaining nine were present in person.


During the meeting, members received updates on PCB affairs and financial matters, with the Chief Financial Officer presenting periodic Management Accounts and financial projections. Chairman MC Zaka Ashraf provided a summary of the achievements during the tenure of the current MC, expressing gratitude to members, PCB management, and staff for their support.

Towards the end of the session, Zaka Ashraf declared his decision to tender his resignation as chairman and member of the MC to the honorable Patron Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar. In his concluding remarks, Ashraf extended his best wishes and prayers for the betterment of Pakistan and Pakistan cricket.

News of Zaka Ashraf’s resignation comes amid discussions during the ongoing committee meeting. The 72-year-old cited challenges in the working environment, emphasizing his dedication to the betterment of cricket. He expressed that the decision for his successor lies with the Prime Minister, Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar.

Earlier this week, the PCB Management Committee meeting in Karachi was postponed at the request of the Ministry of Inter-Provincial Coordination, with the agenda including the formation of the Board of Governors. The IPC Ministry subsequently called a meeting with top PCB officials.

Zaka Ashraf’s term, extended by Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq in November 2023, witnessed Pakistan’s participation in major competitions like the Asia Cup and the ODI World Cup. However, the team faced challenges, failing to reach the finals in the Asia Cup and missing the semifinals in the World Cup.

Following the World Cup, leadership changes occurred with Babar Azam resigning as captain, making way for Shan Masood (Test) and Shaheen Afridi (T20I). The Management Committee also initiated coaching staff changes, relocating them to the National Cricket Academy, and later, witnessing their resignations.

Under the new leadership, including Team Director Mohammad Hafeez and head of the selection committee Wahab Riaz, Pakistan faced challenges, enduring a 3-0 Test series whitewash against Australia and losing the first four T20Is in New Zealand, with one match remaining.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here