ICC Picks Yuvraj Singh as India Ambassador for T20 World Cup 2024

ICC Picks Yuvraj Singh as India Ambassador for T20 World Cup 2024

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has picked Yuvraj Singh India as Ambassador for the T20 World Cup that will be played in the West Indies and United States from 1st June. ICC named Yuvraj Singh India as its Ambassador on Friday.


Yuvraj Singh is a great Indian batter who won the 2007 T20 World Cup Trophy, he will be attending the promotional events in the United States before the World Cup. The highly anticipated game of the World Cup will be played between India and Pakistan on 9th June. The Venue for this fixture is still under construction. However, ICC has also provided updates by sharing a video on their official Instagram account.

2024 T20 World Cup: ICC Provides Details on Pakistan vs India Venue

On this occasion, Yuvraj said he was excited to be part of the event where he set a record of hitting 6 sixes on six balls against England in 2007. Yuvraj Sing India’s Ambassador for World Cup 2024 said:

Some of my fondest cricketing memories have come from playing at the T20 World Cup, including hitting six sixes in an over, so it’s very exciting to be part of this edition, which is set to be the biggest one yet.

“The West Indies is a great place to play cricket with the fans coming to watch creating a vibe that is completely unique to that part of the world, while cricket is also expanding in the USA and I’m excited to be part of that growth through the T20 World Cup.

“India’s clash against Pakistan in New York is going to be one of the biggest sporting fixtures in the world this year, so it’s a privilege to be a part of and to witness the best players in the world playing in a new stadium.”

Groups for T20 World Cup 2024

Group A:

India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, United States

Group B:

England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C:

New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D:

South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

It is worth mentioning that 20 qualifying teams are divided into four groups of five, from which the top two teams of every group will make their way to the Super 8 round.

In that stage, qualifying teams will once again be divided into two groups of four, from which the top two teams will make their way to the semi-final and then the winners will play the final.

This will be the first time since 2010 that an ICC T20 World Cup, which was won by England, will be hosted in the West Indies.

On the other hand, this is the first time an event as big as the World Cup will be hosted by the US.

England are the defending champions after clinching the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia, beating Pakistan in the final.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here