Australia World Cup Squad Unveiled, Steve Smith Excluded from Team

Australia World Cup Squad Unveiled, Steve Smith Excluded from Team

The Australia World Cup Squad has officially unveiled the tournament that is ready to be organized in the West Indies and the USA in June. Mitchell Marsh has been confirmed as a permanent T20I Captain for Australia World Cup Squad. Cricket Australia confirmed this news on Wednesday.


Despite not playing in a T20I since the 2022 T20 World Cup, left-arm spinner Ashton Agar has returned.

South Africa World Cup Squad Announced, Markam to Lead Team

Among the team’s all-rounders are Glenn Maxwell, Tim David Cameron Green, and Marcus Stoinis.

Nevertheless, Matt Short, Jason Behrendorff, Steve Smith, and Jake Fraser-McGurk were unable to earn a berth in the team for the four-week competition. Skipper Mitchell Marsh said:

It’s been an immense privilege to play for my country and now an even greater honour to lead the squad to a World Cup.”

“We have had some strong success in recent times and I am hopeful that will continue in what looks like a wide-open tournament.”

George Bailey, the selection chair, expected the Australian team to perform well in the T20 World Cup’s ninth edition.

“This is an experienced squad with extensive World Cup experience that offers a variety of structures and covers the scenarios the panel believes will factor in the West Indies with the unique nature of the venues and our opponents,” Bailey said.

“It’s great to have Ashton Agar back into the squad following a spate of unfortunate and untimely injuries.

“We believe Ashton can play a critical role in this tournament along with Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Cam Green and Mitch Marsh in complementing our front-line attack options.

“The batting options available allow a tailored approach to each venue and opponent.”

Australia’s T20 World Cup campaign against Oman will begin on June 5 in Barbados. In Group B of the competition, Australia will also play England, Namibia, and Scotland.

Australia’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad

Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here