South Africa World Cup Squad Announced, Markam to Lead Team

South Africa World Cup Squad Announced, Markam to Lead Team

The South Africa World Cup Squad has been revealed on Tuesday officially. The African team will play under the leadership of Aiden Markam. The South Africa World Cup squad will play under the leadership of Markam for the first time in their cricket history.


Due to a back injury, Nortje has not played in any international cricket matches since September 2023. De Kock, who quit Test cricket in 2022, ended his career in One-Day Internationals (ODIs) following the 2023 Cricket World Cup.

India World Cup Squad for 2024 Announced, Shubman Gill Out

Ryan Rickelton and Ottniel Baartman have been selected as the squad’s uncapped T20I players after making an impression in the SA20 competition.

South Africa’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad

Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Traveling reserves: Nandre Burger and Lungi Ngidi.

South Africa will play in Group D of the T20 World Cup 2024 along with Sri Lanka Team, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal.

South Africa will start their World Cup journey on 3rd June in a fixture against Sri Lanka in New York.

It is important to note that 20 qualifying teams will be divided into four groups. Each group will consist of five teams, and from these, only two teams will be able to play the Super 8 round of the T20 World Cup Squad.

In that stage, qualifying teams will again be divided into two groups of four, from which the top two teams will make their way to the semi-final and then the winners will play the final on June 29.

Groups for T20 World Cup 2024

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, United States

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here