India World Cup Squad for 2024 Announced, Shubman Gill Out

India World Cup Squad for 2024 Announced, Shubman Gill Out

On Tuesday, the India World Cup Squad announced it will start in June 2024. This World Cup will be hosted by the West Indies and the USA.


As it was obvious, Rohit Sharma will lead the India World Cup squad for the event. Key players like Virat Kholi, Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, and Siraj are also part of the Indian Team. Shubman Gill is not part of this squad for the event, which marks a question for the Indian Selection Committee.

New Zealand squad for World Cup 2024 Confirmed

Yuzvendra Chahal who was not part of the Blue team for a long duration was also added to the squad after a great performance in IPL 2024. Along with him, other spinners like Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel will also wear blue shirts.

Sanju Samson and Rishabh Pant are the two wicketkeepers in the Indian squad.

Pant will make a comeback to international cricket for the first time since a near-fatal car crash in December 2022.

He returned to cricket at the ongoing Indian Premier League, where he has notched up 398 runs in 11 matches with a best of 88 unbeaten.

India’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad

Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya (vice-Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj.

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan

India will start their World Cup campaign against Ireland on June 5 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York, followed by the match against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 9 at the same venue. India will then take the field against the USA and Canada on June 12 and 15 respectively.

Skipper Sharma and Selection Committee Chairman Ajit Agarkar will address a press conference on May 2 at the BCCI headquarters in Mumbai.

It is worth mentioning that 20 qualifying teams are divided into four groups of five, from which the top two teams of every group will make their way to the Super 8 round. In that stage, qualifying teams will again be divided into two groups of four, from which the top two teams will make their way to the semi-final and then the winners will play the final on June 29.

Groups for T20 World Cup 2024

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, United States

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here