West Indies Triumphs Over Papua New Guinea in 2024 World Cup

West Indies Triumphs Over Papua New Guinea in 2024 World Cup

Cricket West Indies Team which is hosting ICC World Cup 2024, started their journey by defeating Papua New Guinea by five wickets on Sunday at Guyana’s Providence Stadium.


Rovman Powell was the man who chased down the target for the team in the 19th over, at that stage West Indies were six wickets down. But Roston Chase and Andre Russell successfully managed to get victory for the side.

The Cricket West Indies team was in trouble as they were five wickets down on just 97 runs and the required was forty runs in just 24 balls.

World Cup Opener Won by Host, USA vs Canada Highlights

Chase stayed calm and led the West Indies to victory with an unbeaten 42 off 27 balls. Russell helped with an unbeaten 15 off 9 balls.

Brandon King scored 34 off 29 balls at the top, while Nicholas Pooran made 27 off 27 balls. PNG’s captain, Assad Vala, took two wickets for 28 runs.

Earlier, West Indies bowled first and kept taking wickets regularly, keeping PNG to 136-8. The only good partnership for PNG was between Sese Bau and Charles Amini, who added 44 runs for the fifth wicket.

Bau was the top scorer with a solid 50 off 43 balls, hitting one six and six fours. Captain Assad Vala scored 21 off 22 balls, including two fours and a six. Kiplin Doriga added some important runs at the end, finishing with 27 not out.

Follow Our Offical WhatsApp Channel thestumpblog

Andre Russell was the best bowler for West Indies, taking 2/19, while Alzarri Joseph took 2/34. Akeal Hosein, Romario Shepherd, and Gudakesh Motie each took one wicket.

WI vs PNG Playing XIs

Cricket West Indies Team Playing XI:

1 Johnson Charles, 2 Brandon King, 3 Nicholas Pooran (wk), 4 Roston Chase, 5 Rovman Powell (capt), 6 Sherfane Rutherford, 7 Andre Russell, 8 Romario Shepherd, 9 Akeal Hosein, 10 Alzarri Joseph, 11 Gudakesh Motie

PNG Playing XI:

1 Tony Ura, 2 Assad Vala (capt), 4 Sese Bau, 5 Hiri Hiri, 6 Charles Amini, 7 Kipling Doriga, 8 Alei Nao, 9 Chad Soper, 10 Kabua Morea, 11 John Kariko



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here