Rashid Khan to Lead Afghainstan World Cup Squad in West Indies and USA

Rashid Khan to Lead Afghainstan World Cup Squad in West Indies and USA

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) confirmed on Tuesday, that the Afghanistan World Cup Squad will play under the leadership of Rashid Khan this year. This World Cup is hosted by the West Indies and the United States of America (USA).


Star spinner Rashid Khan has been named to lead the Afghanistan squad, which features six all-rounders.

Compared to the 2022 editions, Afghanistan’s team underwent significant changes, as Karim Jannat, Mohammad Ishaq, and Noor Ahmad were included in the roster.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel thestumpblog

Hashmatullah Shahidi, a middle-order batsman who led Afghanistan in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India last year, was left from the team; his final T20I participation was in 2022.

Young spinner Nangyal Kharoti, who debuted for his country in March against Ireland, obtained a berth in the team thanks to his strong showings.

In the three-match series against Ireland, the 20-year-old captured five wickets at an economy rate of just 5.90.

England World Cup Squad Announced, Jofra Archer Returns

Wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Ishaq is another player who has named himself in Afghanistan World Cup Squad After taking part in their 2020 and 2022 ICC U19 Mens Cricket World Cup.

Rashid will lead Afghanistan’s strong spin department which features Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Nangyal Kharoti, and veteran Mohammad Nabi.

Naveen-ul-Haq, Fareed Ahmad, and Fazalhaq Farooq all retained their spots and will make up Afghanistan’s fast-bowling line-up in the T20 World Cup.

Afghanistan Squad for T20 World Cup: 

Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Ishaq, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan (c), Nangyal Kharoti, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik

Reserves: Sediq Atal, Hazratullah Zazai, Saleem Safi



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here